For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Lyndsey B.

Education

St. John's University,
B.A. in Psychology, M.Ed in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
09/12-05/16, 09/16-05/19

Childcare Experience

Senior Camp Counselor at Plum Gar Rec Center
Germantown, MD, 06/14 - 08/14
Twenty children, ages 5-6

Part-Time Babysitter
Flushing, NY, 06/16 - Present
Two girls, ages 2 and 5

Party Host/Camp Counselor at Bounce U.
Clarksburg, MD, 08/11 - 08/13
Ten-Twenty children, ages 3-13

Professional Experience

Volunteer Mentor
Olney, MD, 09/09 - Present

Sales Associate at Melt Bakery
New York, NY, 05/15 - 06/16

Studio Assistant/Party Host at Oliloli
Forest Hills, NY, 01/16 - 06/16

Secretary at Law Offices of Larry Hallock
Flushing, NY, 06/16 - 06/17

About me

As the oldest of three children, I've always had a nurturing nature about me. Years later much of my employment history and volunteer work continues to be with children. I have worked with children ranging from the ages of just 6 months old to 13 years old, as well as with children of varying special needs.

From changing diapers to assisting in etiquette classes, I love it all. I am an empathetic, patient and creative person with a passion for working with children and families. In May of 2016 I graduated from St. John's University with a Bachelor's in psychology and I am currently working on my Master's in mental health counseling. I am furthering my studies in the hopes of working with children and families on multiple platforms.

There are a multitude of people that I can say greatly contributed to my upbringing and growth as a person. I am a strong believer in the idea that "it takes a village". That being said, that is a driving force in my passion to work with families. I am an advocate for fostering children's creativity and learning from our surroundings and experiences. However, when it comes to buckling down and taking care of schoolwork and responsibilities, I hold that in high regard, too.

In May of 2016, I graduated from St. John's University with a B.A. in Psychology. I am currently working on my M.Ed. in Clinical Mental Health Counseling with the intention of working with women and children in clinical settings within New York as well as neighboring states. While completing this coursework, I also began babysitting a family in New York, and I absolutely love it. Working in such close proximity to children is extremely rewarding, and helps me to truly gain the skills for my future as a clinical psychologist!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Studying/completing assignments for school. When I'm not working or doing schoolwork I enjoy going to yoga, painting pottery, trying new foods, spending time in parks, traveling, and checking out local flea markets and thrift stores.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

A clinical mental health counselor working with women and children in an array of environments, licensed in more than one state.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love painting pottery and find it to be a great way to practice creativity as well as patience (as the process to glaze and fire a piece takes time). I also enjoy baking. I don't know too many people who don't enjoy the occasional sweet treat, but a treat can be even more special when it's made with the help of little hands.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.