How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Marielle K.

Education

Binghamton University,
B.A. in Psychology (Magna Cum Laude)
09/13 - 05/17

Childcare Experience

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 06/15 - Present
Two boys, ages 2 and 3

Part-Time Nanny
New York, NY, NY, 09/18 - 03/20
boy 20 Months, Girl 2 months

Part Time Nanny
New York, NY, 09/18 - 03/20
two girls, ages 3 and 4, Boy 6

Part-Time Babysitter
Nashville, TN, 07/14 - 06/15
One girl, Newborn

Part-Time After-School and Evening Babysitter
New York, NY, 06/07 - 06/14
Two girls, ages 2 and 3

Child Dance Teacher and Caregiver
New York, NY, 07/06 - 07/11
Ten children, ages 3-8

Professional Experience

Hostess
Nashville, TN, 08/13 - 12/13

Ballet Apprenticeship with The Nashville Ballet
Nashville, TN, 07/12 - 05/13

Hostess
Nashville, TN, 08/12 - 05/13

About me

I have been working as a babysitter for the last thirteen years and I love working with children. It is so special to have the opportunity to spend quality time with children, build special bonds, and be a part of their growth and development. I have a warm, engaging, and nurturing personality that allows me to connect quickly and easily with children. I am very hands-on with children and love to get down on the floor and really play with them! I am also extremely responsible and reliable, and understand how important the caregiver role is to both the parents and the child. I am active, energetic, communicative, and highly attentive to detail. I have worked with children of all ages ranging from newborn to 12. I understand the importance of maintaining discipline, while also being loving and fun! I have a B.A in psychology and have spent much time studying child psychology and development. In addition, I have taken several courses in learning and cognitive psychology, which have provided me with a strong foundation in how children learn. These experiences and skills help me immensely today in caring and helping to teach children.

I was born and raised in New York City and grew up as a serious ballet dancer. By the age of ten, I was studying dance at a pre-professional ballet school. When I wasn’t dancing, I found I was drawn to the “baby ballerinas.” Throughout my formative years, I spent all my free time playing with the young dancers who were between three and six. They adored me and would take any opportunity they could to come sit on my lap and bring me their latest craft project. This is when I realized how much I truly love children. Before I knew it, my ballet mistress approached me and told me that the parents of the young children had been requesting that I teach their ballet classes and watch the kids in their free time. I happily accepted and enjoyed both teaching and supervising the children between ages three and eight.

I have extensive experience in childcare, and have worked with children in all stages of development from infancy through preteen years. I began my first job as a dance teacher and caregiver. I taught both boys and girls between ages three and eight, and also watched them during their free time between classes. Shortly after, I began my first professional babysitting position; I watched two girls ages two and three, and continued to babysit for this family for seven years.

As the position involved, I played with them on the beach and in the water, gave them meals, showered them, and dressed them. In the evenings, I was responsible for feeding them dinner, bathing them, and reading them stories before bed. As the girls got older, my responsibilities grew with them; I took them to activities using various forms of transportation (subways, buses and cabs), prepared more sophisticated meals, helped with homework, and tutored them in math, reading, and writing. Throughout those years, I also took occasional jobs babysitting for other children ranging in ages from newborn to thirteen years old.

For some time during college, I moved to Nashville to join The Nashville Ballet as an apprentice. During this time, I began part-time babysitting for a family with a newborn baby girl. At first, I assisted the mother with swaddling, night feedings, dressing and bathing while she was just home from the hospital. I continued these responsibilities on my own when the mother went back to work, and also made homemade organic baby food once the baby began eating solids.

When I returned to New York, I began babysitting for a family with two girls ages 1.5 and 5. I participated in active play, read books, danced, took them to the park, changed diapers, cleaned bottles, cooked meals, did laundry and so much more.

When working with children, I keep in mind that every child is special and unique; I try to encourage and bring out every child’s creativity, while making sure they are in a safe and secure environment. I am a huge advocate of active play, including cooking and baking, craft projects, block building and much more. I also love reading to children of all ages, and as they learn to read, encouraging them to read to me.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Dancing, doing pilates, reading about child psychology, working out, at the beach, hiking, spending time with friends and family, cooking and eating, watching movies and singing.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

A certified pilates instructor, massage therapist, and working towards my degree as a midwife.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to play music, sing, dance, and put on shows with children. In addition, I encourage dress-up and make believe play. I enjoy building with blocks, legos and sand. I love to play with children at the park including: tag, jungle gym play, pushing them on the swings, and swimming. When the weather is bad I enjoy taking children to the museum, and indoor play facilities.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.