For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Sarah W.

Education

Auburn University,
B.A. in Human Development and Family Studies
09/09 - 05/13

Childcare Experience

After-School Babysitter
Ohatchee, AL, 08/07 - 06/08
One boy, age 8, One girl, age 3

After-School Babysitter
Auburn, AL, 08/10 - 12/11
Quadruplets, age 10

Summer Nanny
St. Louis, MO, 06/13 - 07/13
Two boys, ages 3 and 5, One girl, age 7

Full-Time Nanny
St. Louis, MO, 08/13 - 07/16
One girl, age 2, One boy, age 6

Full-Time Nanny
New York, NY, 08/16 - 02/17
Two girls, ages 1 month and 7, One boy, age 5

Mother's Helper
New York, NY, 02/17 - Present
One boy, age 15 months

Professional Experience

Elementary School Tutor
Ohatchee, AL, 06/03 - 07/06

Intern- Working with Orphans in China
Beijing, China, 06/08 - 07/08

Special Olympics Volunteer
Anniston, AL, 05/03 - 05/09

Buckner International Intern
Tegucigalpa, Honduras, 06/11 - 07/11

Teacher's Assistant- Auburn Early Childhood Center
Auburn, AL, 08/11 - 12/12

Pregnancy Counselor
New York, NY, 02/17 - Present

About me

I have always been around a lot of children. Growing up as one in a set of quadruplets with and older sibling, our home was always full of laughter and fun! My unique childhood has fostered a love for children that has continued throughout my life. In the summer of 2003, I began my childcare career as a babysitter and a tutor for younger children in our community. After that summer, I was hooked. Over the last 13 years, I have gotten to work with children in multiple capacities. From a full- time nanny, working with children in an orphanage in Honduras, my life has been enriched by each child I have worked with.

My first experience working with children was tutoring elementary school children, ages 7-10, in my local community. After this, I was an after-school nanny for a toddler and a school age child, as well as a babysitter for families in my community. During the summer of 2008, I traveled to China to intern with special needs orphans, most of whom where infants- 4 years of age. While in China, I also participated in a government orphanage program working with preteen and teenagers.

During college, I was an after school nanny for a set of 10-year-old quadruplets (two boys and to girls), which was exciting because I am a quadruplet myself. I also spent one summer as a nanny to two boys, ages 5 and 7, and another summer working with infants in an orphanage and teaching English to high school students in Honduras. Throughout my Junior and Senior years, I worked as a teacher’s assistant for the Auburn University Early Learning Center’s three-year-old class.

After college, upon moving to St. Louis, I worked as a summer nanny for three children ages 3, 5, and 7. My job included planning fun summer activities for the children to participate in. Anything with water was their favorite.

For three years in St. Louis I was a full-time nanny to two children, a girl age 2 and a boy age 6. Those three years were full of countless fun adventures! When moving last summer, the boy who was then 9 years old, told me at the airport, “Thanks for the three best years!”

Since moving to New York last summer, I have worked for two different families. One, as a full-time nanny taking care of a newborn, 5 year old and 7 year old and the other family working as a mother’s helper to a little boy who is 15 months.

I love to be active with the children I work with; whether that is exploring a new museum or playing a sport. When working with children, I love to discover what each individual child’s passions are and what makes them unique! I create a secure and safe environment, while still having fun.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Exploring all that New York City has to offer, spending time with my husband, or enjoying time with friends.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Working with children as a Pediatric Occupational Therapist.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to teach children to love and respect others and themselves, to help them explore and find what their passions are. Being active with children is important to me, whether that is being the soccer goalie or participating in a dance party, anything to actively engage.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.