For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Lauren B.

Education

Armstrong State University,
B.A. in Theatre
09/09 - 05/12

Childcare Experience

Part-Time Babysitter
Savannah, GA, 08/09 - 08/13
Two girls, ages 4 months and 4 years old

After-School Babysitter
Savannah, GA, 10/12 - 05/14
Twin girls, age 8

Part-Time Babysitter
Savannah, GA, 06/12 - 12/15
Four children, ages 9, 6, 4 and 1.

Full-Time Nanny
New York, NY, 08/16 - 06/17
One boy, 3 months

Professional Experience

Teacher/Assistant Director
Savannah, GA, 09/12 - 07/16

Box Office Associate
Savannah, GA, 11/12 - 05/14

Actress
Savannah, GA, 04/12 - 10/12

About me

I was born in Atlanta, Georgia and moved to Savannah when I was 18. At this time, I acquired my first professional childcare position taking care of a 4 year old and 4 month old. It was my first time taking care of a baby, but I learned quickly and it came naturally. I worked for this family part time for several years. I was a regular date night babysitter and also had other responsibilities like picking up the oldest from school, assisting with homework, helping care for the pets, maintaining sibling harmony and overseeing playtime with an emphasis on games and outdoor activities.

After college, I began working at a children's theatre. I was a field trip teacher working with a group of twenty-five children. I was responsible for balancing their needs and maintaining group harmony. I taught the children songs and dances from an educational musical, which they performed for their parents and teachers! I was also the assistant director of the 2nd-5th grade after-school class working with up to forty children at a time, where I taught them a musical over a 12 week period followed by a weekend of performances.

Seeing these children grow and learn by doing musical theatre was extremely rewarding. While working there, I continued to babysit regularly for a few families, including one particular family with four children. I picked up the children from school, helped with homework, prepared dinner, gave baths and put the children to bed. With four children, disputes commonly occur and I had to learn how best to navigate the issues and resolve them.

A year ago, I moved to NYC. I decided I wanted a change and embark on a new adventure! I have a B.A. in Theatre and it has been a huge part of my life for a long time. I love to see shows on Broadway and have see over twenty shows since I moved here. Upon my settling into the city, I got a job as a nanny and dove head first into the wonders and challenges of the Big Apple! I like to use my creativity in childcare by encouraging kids to use their imaginations. I also love to sing and I enjoy singing to and with children. I enjoy taking children to see theatre and hear music performances because I think it is important for them to have these immersive experiences.

When I moved to New York a year ago, I began to work with a 3 month old and took care of him for 10 months, only leaving because the family chose to put him in daycare. I work in the children's ministry in my church with 1 year olds. It is a challenge to juggle all the children who struggle when their parents leave, but I have learned how to make the best of the situation. I think New York is a great place to raise kids; the city is their backyard with parks, museums, zoos, and indoor playgrounds. I am truly passionate about providing the best childcare possible. I take pride in my role to help them be the best person they can be.

I am an extrovert who loves to talk to people and get to know them on a personal level. My love language is quality time and I find the most joy by spending time with friends and being a blessing to them. Being a caregiver is about a lot more than keeping a child happy and healthy. It's about shaping our future leaders and nothing is more important than that.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins

I will be SmartSitting while...

seeing a Broadway show, watching a movie at a friends house, reading a book, watching Netflix, having a picnic in Central Park or FaceTiming my family.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

working at a fulfilling job I look forward to going to everyday.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

singing, acting, dancing, reading, appreciation of art


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.