For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Lily P.

Education

The University of Georgia,
Bachelor of Journalism (Advertising) and French Language
09/09 - 05/12

Childcare Experience

Full time nanny
Athens, Georgia, 08/09 - 12/12
3 girls, ages 7, 10, and 12

Summer Au Pair
Normandy, France, 06/13 - 08/15
One girl, age 12, Twin boys, age 9

Part-Time Babysitter
Savannah, GA, 01/05 - 08/09
Two girls, ages 8 and 11

English Teacher
Hanoi, Vietnam, 08/16 - 12/16
Ten children, ages 7-9

Professional Experience

Host and Apartment Manager
Porto, Portugal, 02/17 - 07/17

Photography Studio Manager
New York, New York, 01/13 - 09/15

Assistant Property Manager
Hanoi, Vietnam, 08/16 - 12/16

Photographer and Videographer
Savannah, GA, 10/15 - 08/16

About me

My name is Lily and I've just moved back to New York after a year of living in Hanoi, Vietnam and Porto, Portugal. I have previously lived in NYC for 2.5 years (2013-2015) and I consider myself to be a nouveau New Yorker. I'm a well educated and well traveled 26 year old woman from Savannah, GA with 10+ years of experience working with families in almost every capacity- as an overnight weekends and traveling nanny, a tutor, a certified English teacher in Vietnam, a pet/plant/house sitter, summer au pair, and in my own family I am the first of two daughters. I'm also a graduate of the University of Georgia and an intermediate speaker of French. Others describe me as hardworking, kind, open-hearted and outwardly loving, entrepreneurial minded, an excellent cook, and grounded yet playful with children.

My relationships with children are centered around fostering their childlike sense of wonder and endless imagination. I relate to children in a way that makes them feel that they are on my level and can still ask me for help with anything at any time. I have always preferred to build a pillow fort surrounded by boiling lava than to sit for hours in front of the iPad. In my previous experience working as a summer au pair with two ten year old twin boys and a twelve year old girl in Normandy, France, I loved the constant change and action of running around with the kids, whether it was showing them the ropes on a sailboat, digging for clams, or double bouncing the boys on the trampoline. Many more memorable nannying moments come from my time working with a single mother and her three daughters in Athens, GA. Each daughter had her own well-defined identity and interests, and it was a blast for me to get to know each daughter as an individual and then invest in her uniqueness. I spent hours researching which Thai dish would be fun to cook for dinner with the eldest (and then jointly cooking it), frequently found myself curled up on the couch talking about traveling and cultures around the world with the middle daughter (who just returned from her travels through Japan!), and joined in many a bike ride with the youngest and her neighborhood playmates. It is imperative to me that children are able to explore their environment with safe guidance and supervision, and that they feel they can communicate their ideas of fun so that we can create that fun together. I love children because I feel I learn from them at the same rate they are learning from me, and I admire them for being delighted and awed by a world which can demand so much of us. They inspire me to live in gratitude and joy, and with great purpose.

In my mind, one of the biggest perks of working as a nanny is forming close personal relationships with the family. It is the ultimate gift for me to have witnessed and encouraged the growth of the children I have nannied over the years. I love that I have remained one of the first to find out about all of the favorite color changes, new interests, first day of school outfit selection, first dates, driving lessons and internship offers, even though I have lived and worked all around the world since working for some of these families. The feeling of receiving those texts, emails, and facebook messages cannot be beat, I'm sure of it!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Walking or biking around the city, at a museum, camped out at a coffee shop reading through a cookbook, enjoying a live performance of some sort (dance, music, theatre, poetry), talking to my sister, or on a day trip out of NYC to recharge.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Running a B&B with my partner of several years (a chef) on the coast of Portugal! Is that too much to ask?

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Cooking, painting and drawing, lessons on different cultures and lifestyles around the world, problem solving, swimming, biking, art appreciation, finding the fun no matter what.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.