For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Maria B.

Education

West Chester University of Pennsylvania,
Bachelor of Music, Minor in Theatre
09/09 - 05/13

Childcare Experience

Camp Counselor
Jamison, PA, 06/10 - 08/16
Multiple children, ages 4-15

YMCA Child Watch
West Chester, PA, 04/12 - 12/13
Multiple children, ages 6 weeks to 7

YMCA Summer Camp Counselor
West Chester, PA, 06/12 - 08/14
Multiple children, ages 5-15

YMCA Child Care Assistant Group Supervisor
West Chester, PA, 11/13 - 01/14
Multiple children, age 2

Full-Time Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 09/16 - 06/17
Two girls, ages 3 and 1

Professional Experience

Choir Director
Quakertown, PA, 09/13 - 06/14

Substitute Teacher
Sellersville, PA, 01/14 - 06/16

General Music Teacher – Long-term Substitute
Collegeville, PA, 09/15 - 06/16

About me

Hello! My name is Maria. I have over 7 years of experience working with children of all ages in a variety of settings. I have worked as a nanny and also worked at a day care, summer camps, and as a substitute teacher in schools. I am a certified music teacher, so I love singing and dancing. I also have my CPR certification, which is current through 2019. I love doing arts and crafts and puzzles as well. I love animals. I enjoy watching sports. I played soccer for almost 12 years when I was growing up.

I knew from a young age that I wanted to work with children when I grew up. My mother and grandmother were both teachers when I was little and I used to go to school with them all the time, and that's when I decided that I wanted to work with children.

I went to school to become a music teacher. While in school I started working at summer camps and at the local YMCA in various child related departments. Once I finished school and got my degree in Music Education, I started to substitute teach. I went to a variety of school teaching different ages and subjects. I also taught music once a week at a local private school.

During the 2015-2016 school year, I got a job as a long-term substitute teaching general music at a K-5 elementary school. After that job ended, I decided to move to New York. I started nannying for a family with two girls, ages 3 and 1. When I'm not working, I am often babysitting and playing with my 2-year-old niece.

When working with children I create a fun, safe environment that help children to learn and grow. I have become more aware of children’s needs in my different work environments. This work experience has helped me with problem solving skills and making quick decisions based on the child’s wants and needs. I make sure that in whatever setting I am in (schools, day cares, private family homes) that I am adapting and adjusting to meet the needs of the children I am working with.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

In my spare time I am a singer in a competing barbershop quartet. I love to read and listen to music. I am also a big theatre buff, so I love to go see Broadway shows.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In 5 years I hope to be teaching music classes to children who want to form a passion for the arts. I hope to instill my love and passion for music in my students and make music lovers and future educators.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Since I am a music teacher, I love introducing children to new music and help teach them how to sing and dance and form an appreciation for the arts. I love to make arts and crafts. I love to read. These are all skills I enjoy sharing with children.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.