For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Jensen O.

Education

Columbia University,
MFA in Acting
09/09 - 05/12

Childcare Experience

Part-Time Temporary Babysitter
New York City, NY, 03/15 - 03/15
Charlie and Katie, two girls age 3 and 1

Occasional Morning/Evening Babysitter
Harlem, NY, 02/17 - Present
One girl, age 1

Evening Babysitter
Harlem, NY, 09/16 - Present
Two boys, ages 6 and 8

After-School/Evening Babysitter
Riverdale, NY, 05/13 - Present
One boy, age 6

Professional Experience

Actor
New York City, NY, 05/12 - Present

Freelance Teaching Artist
New York, NY, 02/12 - Present

About me

My name is Jensen, and I have my MFA in Acting from Columbia, currently study music, and occasionally perform. I was born in the Philippines and raised in the United States. My mother was an ESL teacher and my dad was in the U.S. Navy.

Because of my military upbringing, I got to live a childhood filled with travel, adventure and I learned very quickly how to become independent. I like to think that my experience traveling has made me who I am as an imaginative, well-rounded human being. I have been babysitting since I graduated in 2012 and have decided to stay in New York City to continue cultivating my art, and working with amazing children and families!

I have my MFA in Acting from Columbia University and I have my Pediatric CPR/First Aid certification. As a teaching artist, I am also fingerprinted through the Department of Education and I have a clean background.

I currently babysit a one year old girl one morning a week to give mommy a break, and occasional evenings for date nights. In this position, I am responsible for feeding, changing diapers, putting her down for naps, taking her to story time at the neighborhood library, and going out for excursions to parks and around the neighborhood. She's a very active and curious toddler and I love how she laughs! She is a natural clown!

I also work with two boys (ages 6 and 8) on an occasional basis on evenings and weekends. I usually prep dinner for them, help with homework and then help facilitate bedtime routines. Both are very independent, and are super fun boys! One plays the piano and cello and the other plays the clarinet. I love how creative they are, they always talking about toys,sketching, or building Legos.

For the past four years I have also been an after-school babysitter for a now 6 year old boy. We have a wonderful relationship, and much of the time his family feels like my family. I am generally with him in the afternoons, evenings and some weekends. When he was 2 we did nap time, story time and would take walks around the neighborhood. I'd prep meals, do diaper changes and baths, as well. As he is growing into an amazingly athletic boy, I take him to tennis, gymnastics and piano. My favorite time with him is when we make up stories called "the Adventures of Percy and Ella," of which we are now probably on Chapter 30. Before bed, we also read books about space, one of his favorite topics. I also taught him how to read so when we do read, I read a page, then he reads a page aloud and I find that it has helped with his vocabulary and articulation. I plan to still babysit for them as long as I can, and am very loyal to this wonderful family. I hope to garner the same types of relationships with other families through the Smartsitting network!

My favorite part about being a professional babysitter is that I get to spend my time with lovely little humans. I get to witness their proud moments, challenges, and I get to be their champion. When a family works with me, I feel that I am an extension of the family, while also being a true friend. Often, I am their one of their first friends and I take that responsibility with pride. My job is to nurture a child’s developmental creativity, to protect them and to make sure they feel safe so that their imaginations can be free to play. I have met some sincere, creative kids, and I love being a part of their lives.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen

I will be SmartSitting while...

working on my art, swimming, rowing, rock climbing, doing yoga, pilates, or reading a classic novel or a comedian’s autobiography. I garden, cook and bake. I love to travel and make new friends along the way.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

An artist of the stage, continuing to grow as a human being, learning new things and dreaming of new adventures.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Music appreciation, throwing and catching a ball, baking, telling stories and making up stories, music practice, math, teaching them how to read.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.