For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Cordelia O.

Education

Bowdoin College,
B.A. in Sociology, B.A. in Gender, Sexuality and Women's Studies
09/13-05/17

Childcare Experience

Part-Time Nanny
Brunswick, ME, 08/16 - 05/17
One girl, age 18 months

After-School Babysitter
Brunswick, Maine, 09/14 - 06/17
One boy, age 13 and Two girls, ages 10 and 8

Professional Experience

Bowdoin College Admissions Office Receptionist
Brunswick, ME, 03/15 - 05/17

ACT Tutor
Shaker Heights, OH, 08/15 - 08/16

About me

Ever since my baby brother was born, when I was nine years old, I have loved working with children. As an older sister, I am fortunate to be able to watch him develop, grow and learn and as a young adult I turned this interest of mine into a job. I started babysitting during high school, and found that I loved working with kids. While it is an incredible responsibility to be a part of a child's development, I find that it also brings me great joy.

In college, I wanted to deepen my understanding of children and studied their development both in psychology and sociology courses. I worked in the children's day care center at my college as a classroom observer. I also nannied part time for two families at school and found that the hours I spent each week with the children I worked with were some of my most rewarding times and memories of my four years.

The first family I nannied for had three children. I worked for this family for three years. When I started the children (two girls and one boy) were 6, 8, and 10. My responsibilities included picking the children up from school in my car, preparing and giving the children snacks, driving them to their after-school activities, helping with homework, assisting in nighttime routines, and putting the children to bed.

The other family I worked with had one, 9 month old child. I worked for them for one year. She is bilingual (English and German). My responsibilities included being there when she woke up in the morning, getting her ready for her day, taking her to preschool, reading to her and taking her on walks, picking her up from preschool, bathing and feeding her, communicating with parents and teachers about her day, and putting her to bed. I loved working for both of these families in Maine!

I am a capable and confident nanny, able to handle anything from homework help to administering an epi-pen. I have worked with children in infancy to teenagers changing diapers and tutoring for standardized testing. I have worked with bilingual children and children with special needs. I am communicative and responsible and believe that cultivating strong relationships with parents is a necessity of a good babysitter. I am imaginative and creative and believe in the power of play in regards to childhood development. I love to read, sing, be outside, and cook!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

When I'm not babysitting I'm usually reading books and plays, taking a walk or run, practicing or teaching yoga, or spending time with friends and family.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In five years I hope to be attending graduate school for theatre.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to act things out or read aloud. I also love to teach children yoga, and am planning on continuing yoga education by becoming a yoga teacher specifically for kids!


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.