For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Kelsey W.

Education

New York University,
B.S. in Teaching Spanish (Grades 7-12)
Minor in Linguistics

Childcare Experience

Day Camp Co-Counselor
Kennebunk, ME, 07/08 - 08/08
20 children, grades K-1

Mother's Helper
Kennebunk, ME, 08/09 - 08/09
One girl, age 3 months

Live-in Weekend Nanny
Bridgehampton, NY, 07/10 - 08/10
Two boys, ages 4 and 7

After-School Babysitter
New York (UES), NY, 09/10 - 08/11
Two boys, ages 4 and 8

Full-Time Nanny
New York (Greenwich Village), NY, 09/12 - 08/14
Two boys, ages 3 months and 3 years

Full-Time Nanny
New York (UWS), NY, 09/14 - Present
Two girls, ages 1 and 3 (current)

Professional Experience

Jumpstart Team Member
New York, NY, 09/07 - 05/08

Jumpstart Team Leader
New York, NY, 09/09 - 05/10

Student Teacher- Middle and High School Placements
New York, NY, 09/10 - 05/11

Abbey Road Study Abroad Admissions Representative
New York and Boston, NY, MA, 10/11 - 05/12

About me

I am at my core an Educator. I love to teach, and I especially love to teach children. Although my job title is "nanny," I still see myself as a teacher. Seeing children master something whether it be walking, a zipper, a math problem, or how to share with friends, is an amazing event to be witness to. I've worked in many different areas from Maine, Cape Cod, New York City, the Hamptons and abroad, and love working with children of all ages.

I went to NYU to be a Spanish teacher, but all of my part-time work was in preschools doing one-on-one language development. I've worked in preschool, middle school, and high school settings and have experience from newborns through teenagers. I graduated during a hiring freeze for teachers and went into the world of sales for a study abroad company. After a year I missed working with kids and went back to what I love, taking care of children.

As a teacher in a school, one only can get to know a child so much within the span of a year, and that may be the extent of the relationship. As a nanny I get to know children as they become who they are, and have a role in helping them grow and learn that a classroom just doesn't allow. I love the freedom of working with children as a nanny, where each day is a new adventure that isn't constrained by lesson plans or district guidelines. I'm always interested in furthering my knowledge whether it be attending a nanny conference or reading a parenting book.

I dove into my nanny career and now have 5 years of full time nanny experience. I love helping babies reach milestones, helping toddlers with emerging language skills, helping preschoolers with beginning reading skills and helping school age kids discover their interests and passions. I think the children I’ve worked with would describe me as fun and silly, and parents would describe me as patient and caring. I think I do a good job of being fun, yet setting boundaries, and being silly, yet keeping safety first always.

I'm currently pursuing a Master's degree in Family and Human Development online and learning all about Parenting, Child development and more! My plan is to one day work with parents in a coaching/consulting capacity.

I've been in New York City for 10 years now, and I find new reasons to love this city all the time. I spend a lot of my free time exploring the city and its neighborhoods. I love planning outings with children to different museums, events, and new areas in the city.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)

I will be SmartSitting while...

Meeting up with nanny friends or studying. I find it important to be part of a nanny network, and run a Nanny meetup with over 100 nannies in NYC and surrounding areas and plan events to get to know each other. I'm studying for my Master's degree in Family and Human Development online, and will spend a lot of my time outside of work doing reading for class (on topics such as Parenting and Child Development) and school assignments.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

A parenting consultant. With my degree, I would like to work with families using my experience as a nanny and degree to help teach different parenting skills.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Swimming- I love to swim and think it's such an important skill for children to learn. I enjoy being in the pool and taking little ones to swim lessons. Language and Literacy skills- I like to follow a child's lead in play and incorporate reading and writing whenever possible. Sports- I like to play them with children, cheer them on in practice and games, and help them learn the fine art of winning and losing gracefully. Manners- I am big on please and thank you. Independence- I like to teach children to do things for themselves, whether it's cleaning up their toys, putting on their clothes, going on the potty, tying their shoes, or to play independently.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.