For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Justine P.

Education

Long Island University,
Will obtain M.S.W. in May '2019
09/16-05/19

SUNY Plattsburgh,
B.A. in Childhood Education and Math
09/10-05/14

Childcare Experience

On-Call Babysitter
Commack, NY, 08/15 - 07/17
One boy, age 10, One girl, age 8

Part-Time Babysitter
Smithtown, NY, 06/16 - 04/17
Twin boys, age 6

Full-Time Babysitter/Nanny
Saint James, NY, 06/16 - 04/17
Twin Boys, age 4 and One boy, age 6

Part-Time Babysitter
Smithtown, NY, 04/10 - 06/13
Two boys, ages 5 and 8 and One girl, age 10

Professional Experience

Fifth Grade Teacher
Jacksonville, Florida, 06/15 - 06/16

Substitute Teacher
Great Neck, NY, 09/14 - 06/15

Teacher's Assistant
Smithtown, NY, 04/09 - 06/13

About me

Since I was 15 years old, I discovered love and passion towards children. I felt it was the perfect fit. I started babysitting my neighbors on a regular basis and enjoyed it very much. A few years later, it was time to apply to undergraduate school. I decided to get into the field of teaching and childhood education. During college, I worked at an after school program as a Teacher's Assistant, which allowed me to interact with children ages K-5. I helped them with homework, hands-on activities, arts & crafts, and outdoor activities.

As soon as I graduated undergrad and obtained my bachelor's in Education and Math, I got a job as a Permanent Substitute Teacher in the Great Neck School District grades K-5. This experience allowed me to get to know various students of different grade levels and collaborated with teachers, principals, assistants, and other substitute teachers.

After working in the Great Neck School District, I moved to Jacksonville, Florida and got my very own fifth grade classroom. This was one of the best experiences of my lifetime. One of my greatest strengths as an individual is that I build a strong rapport with children and focus on positive reinforcement. Positive reinforcement helps children focus on their strengths that overpower their challenges or struggles.This experience reassured my passion working with children. Furthermore, allowed me to recognize that I would be an excellent school social worker and help children above and beyond the classroom on an individual basis.

One of my favorite hobbies is practicing yoga. Yoga is a great hobby that I also love introducing and sharing with children. It allows us to develop and maintain positive energy and focus on our strengths. It has been one full year that I have been practicing yoga and I will continue to practice. I also plan on getting certified to teach children yoga after I graduate with my master's degree in two years.

I am very passionate about working with kids and have a lot of positive energy that I share with children. I am very responsible, personable, and outgoing. The experiences described above were very meaningful and made me who I am as an individual.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

I enjoy watching movies, going on walks and runs with my dog named Bentley, doing homework, and practicing yoga.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

After I graduate with my master's in school social work, my ultimate goal is to obtain my PHD and become a school psychologist for middle school or high school students.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to show and teach children how to be independent because it increases their confidence. For example, showing children how to get dressed for the day or clean up after themselves. Children get excited when they can do things on their own! I also love to encourage children to engage in some sort of physical activities such as yoga or other sports that fits the child's interests (every child is different). Physical exercise is good for the mind and increases happiness and confidence.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.