For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Valerie B.

Education

DeSales University,
B.A. in Musical Theatre
09/11-05/15

Childcare Experience

Occasional Babysitter
Somerdale, NJ, 05/15 - 08/17
One boy age 2, One girl age 3 months

Weekend Babysitter
Cherry Hill, New, 08/12 - 08/13
One boy age 5, One girl age 3

Part-Time Babysitter
Runnemede, New, 08/17 - 10/17
One boy, age 10 months

Backstage Babysitter
Center, PA, 08/13 - 08/15
Two girls, ages 8 and 10

Part-Time Babysitter
Upper East Side, NY, 02/16 - 04/16
One girl, age 10

Part-Time Babysitter
Upper West Side, NY, 06/17 - 08/17
Two boys, ages 3 and 1

Math Tutor
Runnemede, NJ, 07/12 - 08/12
One boy, age 10

Music and Theatre Teacher
Camden, NJ, 04/11 - 08/11
Twenty Children, ages 5 - 13

After-School Theatre and Voice Teacher
Camden, NJ, 09/10 - 06/11
Twenty Children, ages 3 - 13

Professional Experience

Server
Brooklyn, NY, 10/15 - 08/17

Actor
Center Valley, PA, 05/13 - 05/15

Acting/Voice Teacher
Camden, NJ, 09/10 - 06/11

Children's Theatre Asst. Director
Blackwood, NJ, 05/12 - 08/12

About me

Hi there! My name is Valerie, and I'm originally from a small town called Somerdale, right outside of Philadelphia. I grew up with two older sisters who taught me what it means to be looked after. I love my parents, who always helped me foster and cultivate my interests in dreams. I like to think I learned about caring for others from the best, my family.

I am a big fan of all things fun and colorful and I love to surround myself with kind people and colorful places. Collecting records and watching classic movies are some of my favorite things to do in my time off and love to read as well. I love to read almost anything from Harry Potter to Kurt Vonnegut novels to Historical fiction. Every Friday I wake up and brush up on old skills I don't want to lose, like math and science skills. I usually try to read a book a week.

Children have always been a big part of my life. I started babysitting as a pre-teen and have not stopped since. I also have taught several courses throughout my life for kiddos. I have been the curator of and teacher of children's improv and creativity classes, voice, and acting classes. I also have been a children's theatre director. I even helped one little girl produce her own play!

Crafting and blogging is a big part of my life and I'm very thankful that it is; Crafting helps me stay creative and keeps my body and brain active. I love DIY things and aI also like to draw with pencil, marker, and I like to paint with watercolor and acrylic. I love to bake, and my specialty is pie. These are things I love to share with kids. Helping children feel creative gives me great joy.

One thing that I know I would love to do that I've never quite had the opportunity to capitalize on is to travel. I've been to a handful of places in the United States, but my big dream is to spend time in places such as France, Germany, Peru, and New Zealand.

I am an animal lover. With three miniature dachshunds at my parents home in New Jersey, it is easy to imagine how I grew up. I have always been surrounded by animals and I hope to continue to be so as an adult. It is easy to understand that with my love of animals that I am also a big fan of nature. Every fall my I go on a big camping trip and throughout the year we take many hiking tips in upstate New York and Pennsylvania.

I grew up with two older sisters who are my biggest role models. I hope to be a role model to young girls and boys in the same way that my sisters are to me!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

When I'm not babysitting I'm usually baking and cooking (mostly baking. I love to make a good pie!) I'm a professional singer and actress and so I love to perfect my craft in my spare time. I also enjoy playing guitar, painting, sculpting, doing crafts, and planning trips. I am also an avid reader and writer!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In 5 years I hope to be a working mother. I hope I am as happy in life in 5 years as I am today I hope to have a home of my own and I hope I continue creating something new every day. I am ultimately most happy when I am singing and when I'm around children. Being a working mother seems like the best way to get that happiness.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Some activities and skills I love to share with children are skills in the kitchen. I love interactive activities like mixing dough, cleaning up together, learning how to measure ingredients. I also really love producing little shows. It is always fun to write little plays together, put together costumes and do a two minute show in the living room. I love being able to get shy kids out of their shells and to get rambunctious kids (me as a child) to be able to work with others. I also feel comfortable tutoring in subjects like music, math, reading/writing and French. If I can get the children I'm working with to feel comfortable while having fun and learning something new, I feel as if I am accomplishing something and doing my job right.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.