For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Emily B.

Education

Colorado State University,
Bachelor's of Science, Apparel and Merchandising, Minor, Business Administration
09/07-05/11

Childcare Experience

After-School/Summer Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 05/17 - Present
One boy, age 6, and One girl, age 8

After-School Nanny
Denver, Colorado, 01/15 - 06/15
One girl, age 11

After-School/Summer Nanny
Denver, Colorado, 09/13 - 05/15
Two girls, ages 4 and 6

Professional Experience

Assistant Manager at Women's Consignment Shop
Denver, Colorado, 11/14 - 11/16

PT Sales Associate / Visual Merchandiser
Denver, Colorado, 10/14 - 11/16

St. John Specialist at Nordstrom
Denver, Color, 03/13 - 12/13

About me

I first started getting into babysitting at the age of 12. At the time, my best friend's mom worked as a preschool teacher and parents were always asking her if she knew of any babysitters. Talk about an easy referral system! I was always getting calls for a last minute date night sitter. Now, a decade and and half later, I am proud to say I've had the opportunity to nanny for three lovely families.

Most of my work with the families has consisted of after-school care or full-time summer nannying. I started my experience with two little girls, ages 4 and 6, who were the most demure little girls one could imagine! We were always playing some variation of dress-up or an imaginary game. Whether it was after-school or full time summer help, I was in charge of pick-ups and drop-offs to school or other activities, homework help, meals and clean up, play time, reading time, coordinating activities with parents and providing feedback when needed. I would also get the girls in to the bath, ready them for bed, and read (or sometimes sing) a bedtime story.

My next nannying experience was with an 11 year old girl of a single mother. We had a blast together! I would pick her up from school and help get her to a weekly doctor appointment, assist with homework, prepare dinner, and just be there as someone she could trust. This is a hard age for anyone but it felt good to allow her to feel like I was an older sister to her.

Most recently, I was fortunate enough to get connected with a lovely family of two kids - a 6 year old boy and an 8 year old girl. The boy always wanted to play Chess or run around at the playground, and the girl wanted to sing karaoke and go to the corner deli for snacks. Between the both of them, I learned a few new Chess moves and likely didn't get any better at my karaoke skills! On a typical day, I was in charge of getting them home from school, giving them a snack and getting them started on homework or a creative activity. I would prepare dinner and clean up after, get them ready for bed with PJs, baths, and nightly reading. I made sure to keep the parents updated if any issues came up in order to support the kids better.

Although most of my recent nannying experience has been with ages 4 - 11, I am very good with all ages, as I pay special attention to their needs and interests. I also have experience with newborns, assisting a close friend after she had a baby this summer and babysitting for 6 month old twins. I've learned about swaddling, bathing, (frequent) diaper changes, and feeding. I also have experience in the toddler age range as I used to babysit a family on my block with two sons who were 2 and 3. I loved being able to interactively read to them and watch them grow in new ways every day!

Being a positive influence to a child's life is such a rewarding feeling. I love being with children and being creative in anyway, their perspective is so enlightening! Playing outside, taking walks around the neighborhood, and going to play at parks are always some of my favorite things to do with kids. I look forward to listening, encouraging, and providing a creative outlook for a young one's future. I hope to find a great family to connect with and create a mutually beneficial relationship!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Drawing, painting, sewing, being out in nature taking walks, hikes or runs, hanging out with friends, going to movies, restaurants, and generally exploring New York City.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In five years I hope to be working at a stable and rewarding position while continuing to grow my side design business.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I'm always eager to share my skills and help grow a child's interest in any artistic outlet! I enjoying arts and crafts, but also anything athletic that gets kids outside moving around outside.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.