For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Katherine A.

Education

Long Island University,
M.A. in Urban Special Education
6/16-5/18

Brandeis University,
B.A. in Psychology, Minor in Education Studies
8/11-6/15

Childcare Experience

Full-Time Nanny
Newton, MA, MA, 11/15 - 06/16
Twin boys, ages 1 1/2, and Two boys, ages 5 and 6

After-School Nanny
Needham, MA, 01/13 - 06/16
Two girls, ages 8 and 10

Spanish Playgroup Facilitator
Brighton, MA, 09/13 - 01/14
Six children, 5- 8 years old

Professional Experience

NYC Teaching Fellow
New York, NY, 05/16 - 08/17

Personal Assistant
Lincoln, MA, 11/15 - 06/16

About me

Hi! My name is Katherine, and I thoroughly enjoy the little things in life, but never forget to dream big. On any given day you can find me riding my bike, reading a book at the park, cooking up a healthy meal, or at a concert rocking out to some Erykah Badu.

I am looking for a job I can whole- heartedly enjoy. As someone who is fascinated by the mind, working with kids makes me ecstatic. Their minds are scurrying with curiosity, trying to figure out the ins and outs of life! Watching them come to realizations is fascinating. I have worked with infants and toddlers, school- age children and even pre- teens and teens and seeing them flourish at all stages of life can be so intriguing.

I have been working with children in various capacities since the moment I could work. My first job was as an after- school counselor at an elementary school in Queens. There I was in charge of making sure the students, which ranged from kindergarteners to 5th graders, completed their homework and received any extra tutoring they needed.

Once I went away to college I found a work- study position at the daycare on campus. At Lemberg's Children Center I worked as a teaching assistant, switching constantly from the infant classroom to the toddler classroom as need- be. The mission at Lemberg revolves around helping children become independent, informed decision makers. Moments of conflict between the children were seen as opportunities to teach fundamental conflict resolution techniques.

After 2 years at Lemberg I decided to start a job as an after- school nanny for a family of 2 school aged girls. I was in charge of picking up the girls from school, providing them with a healthy snack, and guiding them through homework and any after- school activities they had planned. I would drive the girls around in my personal car while being compensated for gas weekly. At the same time I took on occasional babysitting jobs with various families- date nights, sick days, etc.

It was around the same time that I took on a contract job with 3 families on conducting a Spanish playgroup to aid in their children's language acquisition. From start to end I was the sole facilitator of the playgroup- planning weekly lessons and activities all in Spanish.

Upon graduating and before moving back to NY I worked full- time with a family of 4 children- twin toddlers and two school- age boys. I was responsible for diaper changes, nap schedules, healthy snacks and tons of play. Once I picked up the older boys from school, I would make sure they had their snacks and completed any homework before free play. Because this family only watched TV about once a week, the job called for inventive and creative ways of keeping the kids engaged and entertained.

My philosophy on childcare centers around letting kids be kids while diligently guiding them to make conscious, informed decisions about everyday occurrences. I believe we should be raising our children to be citizens of the world. We need to learn how to bring to light not only the beauty of life but the tragedies so that in the long- run they make mindful choices.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

biking, reading, doing yoga, going out for a run, taking a stroll at the park, attending a music event, traveling, photographing, cooking.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

closer to my goal of living self- sustainably.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

empathy, critical thinking, being true to self. activities- arts- and crafts, DIY'S, dancing, yoga, cooking, etc.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.