For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Alex K.


James Madison University,
B.S. in Media Art and Design, Minor in Music Industry

Childcare Experience

Occasional Babysitter
New York, NY, 02/16 - 08/17
Two girls, ages 5 and 7

Sitter for Bell Family Company
New York, NY, 07/16 - 08/17
Variety of children and ages

Date-Night and Weekend Babysitter
New York, NY, 09/16 - 08/17
One girl, age 1 1/2

Full-Time After-School Nanny
Falls Church, VA, 12/14 - 02/16
One boy, age 8 and One girl, age 10

Morning Babysitter/Household Helper
Arlington, VA, 05/15 - 08/15
One boy, age 2

Morning Babysitter
Falls Church, VA, 01/15 - 06/15
One girl, age 1 1/2

After Camp/After-School Babysitter
Newtown, PA, 06/14 - 12/14
One boy, age 6 and One girl, age 9

Weekend Full-Day Babysitter
Doylestown, VA, 09/14 - 12/14
One girl, age 11

Part-Time Babysitter
Doylestown, PA, 06/14 - 08/14
Two girls, ages 6 and 9

Occasional Babysitter
New Hope, PA, 06/14 - 08/14
One boy, age 5

Occasional Babysitter
Newtown, PA, 06/13 - 08/13
Three boys, ages 6, 8 and 13

Professional Experience

Media Investment Coordinator
New York, NY, 02/16 - 08/17

Media Coordinator
Bethesda, MD, 10/15 - 02/16

Independent Contractor
Reston, VA, 11/14 - 05/15

Internet Sales Coordinator
Souderton, PA, 09/14 - 11/14

Social Media Marketing Assistant
Doylestown, PA, 05/13 - 08/13

Production Assistant
Philadelphia, PA, 05/13 - 08/13

About me

Hi, My name is Alex! I am a graduate from James Madison University in Virginia with a major in Media Art and Design and a minor in Music Industry.

I have been living and working in NYC since 2016. Currently, I work full time as a Marketing Manager in Fidi, but I also really love working with children and I'm not ready to give it up just yet! Because of this, I usually babysit after work and on weekends.

I have been babysitting and nannying for over a decade. Along with that, I was a camp counselor for five years. I began babysitting in my home state of Pennsylvania as a teenager. Throughout college, I continued to babysit during the summers. When I graduated from JMU in 2014, I moved to Washington DC. While living there, I was a full-time after school nanny to a family with 2 children. I also consistently sat for a few other families in the mornings/weekends.

I have actively continued to babysit after moving to NYC as well! Since living here, I have sat for a wide variety of families living in all different areas around Manhattan.

I have experience with children from the ages of 2 months to 14 years. I recently was asked which age group I enjoy working with the best, and I honestly was unable to pick! I love sitting for children of all ages, all for different reasons.

I also have experience with children with special needs (autism, ADHD, etc). I am patient and caring, as well as fun-loving, energetic, and outgoing. I love sports and art. I am extremely comfortable caring for children within the home, but I am also very happy to take them places (with parent approval) as well. I also have experience assisting with tutoring, meal prep, light housework, carpooling and household assistant needs.

I am looking forward to working with you!

I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Traveling! I also love going to museums, trying new restaurants, and discovering parts of New York City that I have never seen before. I love being outdoors and active. I try to travel as often as possible, but I like to stay local, as well. I love expressing my creative side! Whenever I go anywhere, I probably have a camera in hand.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Still living in New York, working in a creative position. I hope to still be working with kids to some capacity as well! I would love to work at a nonprofit or volunteer organization in my free time.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Sports and art! I genuinely love playing all sports. A big part of why I love babysitting is that I am able to play the sports I used to love as a kid again! I also love exploring my creativity with kids. Sometimes cooking or baking (with parental approval) is fun too! During the school year, homework help is something I really enjoy as well.

© 2019 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.