For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Rachel H.

Education

Texas A&M University,
B.S. in Kinesiology
09/11-05/16

Childcare Experience

After-School Counselor and Summer Camp Counselor
College Station, TX, 01/15 - 08/16
Multiple Children, ages 5-9

Full-Time Nanny
College Station, TX, 09/16 - 06/17
One boy, age 15 months

Summer Camp Counselor
Houston, TX, 06/12 - 08/12
Multiple Children, ages 5-7 years old

Preschool Teacher
College Station, TX, 08/13 - 08/14
Multiple Children, ages 4-5 years old

Professional Experience

Retail Associate
Houston, TX, 01/11 - 05/11

About me

I've always been the "mom" of the group, and that comes from my nurturing nature. Even as a child myself I had that special something that made me innately great with kids, and now, fortunately for me, I get to make a career out of it!

For five years now I've had the privilege of getting to work with kids during what I consider to be some of their most critical years. I've helped a toddler develop into a "well-beyond-his-years" 2-year old who highly impressed all his new daycare workers (something I take great pride in). I've helped numerous preschoolers develop into amazingly advanced kindergartners, and I've helped elementary school kids develop the social skills necessary for being all-around good people and leaders in the community, and I've done my absolute best to be a good influence the whole time, no matter the age group.

I received a degree in Kinesiology where I was able to take classes not only on exercise science, but also on child psychology and the development of the child's mind, motor behavior and the development of the child's gross and fine motor skills, and how to enhance all of these aspects of the child's life. These skills, as well as my adaptability, activity and event planning, accountability, and belief in the importance of hands-on experience have allowed me to be the best caregiver I could possibly be.

I know how influential a child's mind is, and I do my best to promote the values that I feel are important for children to have especially from a young age.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Exercising, playing sports, and promoting healthy living, exploring new things all around me, dancing, reading, playing lots of games, watching all my favorite shows, and hanging out with my friends!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

A teacher in the New York City school system where my experiences and knowledge can be used to influence children in a positive way.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Being inclusive of everyone especially those who are different from you, healthy living and active life styles (which I believe needs to start young), proper social skills so even young children have an understanding of right from wrong, selflessness and what it means to help others, and embracing a love for learning!


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.