For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Gabriela M.

Education

The School of Visual Arts,
B.F.A in Studio Fine Art

Childcare Experience

Babysitter
Brooklyn Heights, NY, 08/11 - Present
Two boys, ages 7 and 9

Head Teacher
Brooklyn Heights, NY, 07/14 - 08/14
Kids ages 7-9

TA to Teaching Artist in early childcare centers
Brooklyn, NY, 06/11 - 10/14
Kids, ages 1-6

Professional Experience

Middle School Assistant
Brooklyn Heights, NY, 08/11 - 08/14

Middle School Girls Soccer Coach
Brooklyn Heights, NY, 09/14 - Present

Substitute Teacher
Brooklyn Heights, NY, 09/14 - Present

About me

My mother is a pediatric anesthesiologist and she has always said that we share a talent, that we are "baby/child whisperers". I am flattered by that idea but I believe that it's because I operate intuitively. I strongly believe in learning through experience, by being observant. I know how to be the adult but also to listen and take all sides into consideration. It's also valuable to breed awareness, stop for a moment to explain and discuss the situation thoroughly. Especially in this town where all aspects of life move at lightning speed, it's a tall order to always be present and patient.

My real experience with children has been in the last five years. Working alongside a teaching artist in early childhood centers around Brooklyn was when it really clicked, in a very broad sense, I am a teacher. My background and training is in art, playing a role in the development of another person's creative exploration and practice is so gratifying. I recently left my full time role as an assistant to the dean of the middle school at Saint Ann's School in Brooklyn Heights. I was wary of this age at first, I had never worked with pre-adolescent children, and the recollection of my own experience was not very encouraging... tough times for everyone. It soon became very clear to me why I had ended up in this position by chance. I bonded with my first class pretty quickly, they taught me so much. I recognized their struggles and was compassionate towards what they were/are working through. The classes that followed did the same. I am still working at Saint Ann's, coaching middle school girls soccer this season- which goes until the end of Oct. I am also subbing classes and teaching a high school seminar course called "Women Hold up Half the Sky", about the importance of empowering and educating girls worldwide.

Aside from art, teaching and children, I love to cook. The last few years I have really taken to farmers markets, picking up unfamiliar produce and figuring out what to do with it is so fun. I have been putting an effort towards buying local as often as possible, being conscious of ingredients in pre-packaged/pre-made foods, and minimizing waste. I practice yoga very often and love to be outside, I just moved close to prospect park which is very exciting.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers

I will be SmartSitting while...

Practicing yoga, reading, writing, planning out my lessons, researching for the future. Cooking and drawing are what keep me focused and help me decompress. I like going to museums and galleries. I meet up with friends often; I love food and exploring all of the fun and interesting restaurants around here, and to explore all of the creative nooks this city has. I like to be outdoors, walking in the park, or by the water. I joined a group called Dining for Women, and I always leave those meetings inspired and motivated.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Finished or in the process of finishing grad school. I would like to be taking trips regularly to developing countries, volunteering/working for organizations that support children's education. To be confident and consistent in my artistic practice. Maybe meet a swell guy and settle down and have a couple kids of my own.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I am sure it doesn't come as a surprise but certainly arts and crafts, but do not worry I have amazing anti-mess strategies up my sleeve as well. I played soccer for a while and still love to play. I used to horseback ride for many years, I haven't ridden in a while, but I can talk horses for hours. I am a good homework helper and love to read to/with kids. I love to be outdoors, explore and observe nature. When I was 8, I turned the conservatory at my parent's house into a butterfly farm/lab, since metamorphosis fascinated me.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.