How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Luke W.

Education

New York University,
B.F.A. in Theatre
09/12-05/16

Childcare Experience

Date Night Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 10/19 - Present
One boy, 11

After-School Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 09/17 - Present
One girl, age 6

Camp Counselor
Harrison, ME, 06/14 - 08/19
Multiple children, ages 7-16

Part-Time Manny
New York, NY, 09/16 - 12/16
One girl, age 11, and One boy, age 9

After-School Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 09/15 - 06/16
Two boys, ages 8 and 10

After-School Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 10/15 - 06/16
One girl, age 6

Professional Experience

On-Site Program Manager at Asphalt Green Day Camp
New York, NY, 12/19 - Present

Teaching Artist at TADA! Youth Theater
New York, NY, 12/15 - Present

Education Intern at TADA! Youth Theater
New York, NY, 09/13 - 12/15

Teaching Assistant at Colegio Público Carlos V
Madrid, Spain, 01/15 - 06/15

About me

Originally from Columbus Ohio, I've worked in childcare-related fields for around 10 years. First, it was watching the neighbor's girls while she ran to the store, then it evolved into teaching children's theatre and working at an all-girls summer camp, working as a dance instructor at a bilingual elementary school, tutoring kids in math and reading, and finally, back to babysitting.

I moved to NYC in 2012 to study theatre at NYU, and have since earned my BFA. During my time at NYU, I worked as an education intern at TADA! Youth Theater, and was later promoted to teaching artist. TADA! turned out to be the perfect environment for me, since it combined two things I'm extremely passionate about: theatre, and working with kids.

For the past several years, babysitting has been my main job, as I have yet to find anything as fun or rewarding as working with kids. While I still pursue creative projects and writing my own material, my work with kids is still very important to me. I eased myself back into babysitting by starting with date nights, and it basically just snowballed from there. Pretty soon, I had three different after-school families and too many date-night families to count!

I have had the most experience with school-age children, around the ages of 5-11. This the area I feel most skilled because I'm able to be silly and goofy with them, but I am most definitely still an adult authority figure. As a teaching artist at TADA!, I've taught anywhere from ages 3-16, so I have experience with pretty much any age, but elementary school is where I feel I excel.

The best part about working with kids is the knowledge that you're making a positive impact on the child's life. Working at a summer camp, I get to form very tight bonds with the campers for a few weeks every year, and then they leave and we don't see each other for a whole year. It's only once the girls come back do you realize not only how much you've missed them, but how much they've missed you! These kids will tackle their counselors with hugs literally every time they catch sight of them. It's moments like those when I am able to comprehend just how much of an impact I'm able to make to these kids simply by loving them and supporting them as best I can.

My philosophy when it comes to taking care of kids is to promote independence. The best relationships I've had with campers and with kids I babysit are when I'm able to trust them to follow instructions, whatever those instructions may be. At camp, we allow kids as young as 7 years old to follow their own schedule and navigate camp by themselves. It's really demonstrated to me that kids are quite capable of doing things for themselves, as long as you trust them to get it done.

What I hope to instill in any child I work with is a more positive outlook on things. It's so easy to become negative and skeptical, but it's hard work to be optimistic. No matter what the situation, I believe there is always a way to look on the bright side, and it's a skill that requires a lot of practice. It has served me well in life to always be positive, and I want to pass that on and help others do the same.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Writing or playing tennis. Creative disciplines are so important to me, and writing is currently my favorite of them all (though my favorite changes every year or two). I've written three short films and a web series, and that's just what has been produced. I'm constantly revising or reading something, planning a staged reading, or working on production for one of my projects. In NYC, tennis can be a bit tough, but I've played for about 15 years and I will do it whenever I can. I teach tennis at summer camp and it's always hilarious watching the kids' faces when they realize their theatre counselor is actually pretty athletic.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Working as an actor and as a childcare provider in NYC. My artistic work will always be present in my life no matter what, but I also cannot picture myself ever abandoning childcare, because it fulfills me in a way that being an actor/writer cannot. They're such different careers that I really just enjoy having both in my life.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I enjoy teaching theatre and music to kids that I work with -- I can read music and I love to sing, so I've helped several kids in the past with their piano or violin or similar music practices. I even once had a camper who wanted to learn all about screenwriting, so I taught her plot structure and how to create arcs for the characters in the story. Literally anything that's related to the performing arts is something that I can and do share with children.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.