For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Jahnesha H.

Education

Pediatric First Aid CPR and AED,
Certification

Hunter College CUNY,
B.A. in Theater, Minor: Afro-Puerto Rican Studies

Childcare Experience

Holiday Sitter
New York, New York, 12/16 - Present
1 girl age 5

Fill-In Nanny
New York, New York, 08/17 - Present
One girl, age 5 months and One boy, age 3

After-School, Weekend, Holiday, Overnight Babysitter
Queens, NY, 05/10 - 12/12
Two girls, ages 9 and 11

Full-Time Nanny
New York, NY, 01/16 - 02/17
One girl, age 5 months

On-Call Babysitter
New York, NY, 06/17 - Present
One boy, age 4 weeks

On-Call Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 07/17 - Present
One boy, age 9 months

Professional Experience

Montessori Teacher
New York, New York, 05/16 - 12/16

Site Director
New York, NY, 10/15 - 06/16

Entrepreneurial Child Care Expert
New York, NY, 09/15 - Present

Lead Instructor
Queens, NY, 06/04 - 08/04

Instructor
Poolville, NY, 06/08 - 08/08

Site Manager
New York, NY, 08/11 - 03/13

About me

I am a teacher with 13 years of experience with ages 5 months to 17 years old. I have instructed at the NYC Department of Parks & Recreation summer camp for ages 4 to 7. I instructed self-led nature studies courses focusing on math, science, and literacy. It was fullfilling to see my high standards in the classroom translating to less behaviorable issues among campers.

My expertise is theater. I have 20 years of training/experience in the field and 7 years of professional experience in theater, tv, and film. I received my Theater BA at Hunter CUNY. I taught theater based activities and mentored at the Fiver Children's Foundation sleep-away camp for ages 7-17. With this organization I pledged a 10 year commitment to see their participants thrive from elementary school through college with college prep, job placement, and challenging coursework. Being in the wilderness with children has made safety a number 1 priority for me. We studied improv, play analysis, and script writing while learning to build a fire, pitch a tent, swim, and keep food and ourselves safe from bears.

I was also a Montessori teacher for ages 5 months to 3 years old. Montessori is a holistic approach to learning and focuses on not only learning but socio-emotional health. I created all lesson plans which included singing Twinkle Twinkle Little Star to more complex lessons like learning about Africa through music, dancing, food, and reading.

I continued my career as Site Director of multiple after-school arts programs for NYC public schools for ages 2-7. Many children in the program had special diets and nut-allergies which required me to follow Department of Education safety policies for epi-pen usage for anaphylactic reactions. Giving children a safe space to grow and learn is so important to me. In addition I was substitute teacher for over 1 dozen classes through the program! I always have new and exciting activities for children to engage in.

I have nannied for many families ages 5 months-5 years old. As a full-time nanny I make sure to leave the home clean, children fed, and I am in communication with parents so they feel safe and secure with someone in their home with their children. I plan cool activities based in math, literacy, and science that are fun and teaches children academic foundations. I also believe active children have a healthy outlet for their creativity so I get them outside as much as possible.

I incorporate meditation into my sessions along with school prep, reading and literacy, math, art, writing, theater, music, dance, nature studies, homework help and science. I have worked with babies as young as 3 weeks old where we do tummy time, listen to classical music, read, and I engage them in sensory play and conversation to help them develop their language and motor skills. I am also a resource and support system for new parents helping with baby's feedings, transitioning to solid foods, and getting baby on a regular sleep schedule. I have experience working with children who have special needs, specifically Autism as well! I love working with children.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Hiking, painting, kickboxing, and cooking delicious treats!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Getting my Masters in Early Education or Child Psychology, and changing the world by empowering the minds of children.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Reading, dancing, art, critical thinking skills, science, math, a love for nature and being active outdoors, Montessori focused lessons and positive thinking.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.