For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Ashley S.

Education

Boston College,
B.A. in English Literature
B.A. in Russian Language & Literature

Smolny College (Saint Petersburg State University),
Academic Year Abroad, Saint Petersburg, Russia

Middlebury College, Russian School,
Summer Study Certificate

The European University of Saint Petersburg,
Research Affiliation, Department of Anthropology

Childcare Experience

Private ESL Tutor
Saint Petersburg, Russia, 11/14 - 07/14
Kids, ages 5-16

Resource Counselor, Little Big Land
Tours, France, 05/13 - 08/13
Kids, ages 7-14

Occasional Babysitter
Newton, MA, 09/11 - 08/12
Two girls, 3 & 7

Tennis Camp Counselor
Mt. Laurel, NJ, 04/04 - 08/08
Kids, ages 2-14

Occasional Babysitting
Multiple, , 06/04 - Present
Kids, ages 2-14

Professional Experience

ESL Tutor
Saint Petersburg, Russia, 10/13 - 07/14

English Teacher
Saint Petersburg, Russia, 10/13 - 12/13

English Language Assistant
Orleans, France, 10/12 - 04/13

About me

I have been working with children since the age of 12, whether in the capacity of a babysitter, sports camp instructor, teacher, residential camp counselor, tutor, or lifeguard. Working in these positions has given me the unique opportunity to view the wonder of a child's mind from different perspectives. In my childcare positions, I institute effective and creative teaching and learning strategies without any hint of a classroom environment. In my teaching positions, I am able to give children the warmth and structure they need to maximize their learning potential. Additionally, my work as a freelance copy editor, translator (I am completely fluent in French and Russian), tutor, and researcher has provided me with exceptional organizational skills as well as flexibility, adaptability, and a diverse set of talents. In my free time, I have developed my skills as a writer, photographer, and leader, having started and led a student group for outdoor activities and several sports teams. I began cooking at the age of 16, and I have developed a specific interest in healthy eating with a focus on French, American, and Russian cuisines.

My approach with children is creative, intuitive, and individualized within a safe and structured environment. I believe that any position with children should enable the child's learning experience as he or she comes to know the world and develops into a responsible contributor to his or her community. I love to share my many interests with children and welcome the opportunity to create constructive outlets for the interests and learning styles of each individual child!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Writing, traveling & exploring, taking photographs, staying active (running, yoga, sailing, walking around the city), going to art exhibitions.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

A published author and/or getting my PhD in English literature.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Arts & crafts, sports (soccer/tennis/basketball/yoga especially!), outdoor games, theater, reading & writing, cooking, music (piano/singing).


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.