How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Grace B.

Education

University of California at Santa Barbara,
B.F.A. in Dance, Minor in English
09/11-06/15

Childcare Experience

Part-Time Babysitter/Tutor
Santa Barbara/New York, CA/NY, 09/14 - 12/17
One girl, age 7

Full-Time Nanny/ Personal Assistant
Los Angeles, CA, 10/15 - 10/17
Five boys, ages 4 months, 2, 4, 6, and 9

Part-Time Babysitter
Annapolis, MD, 09/10 - 06/13
Two boys, ages 1 and 3

Professional Experience

Dance Instructor
Los Angeles, CA, 06/15 - 08/17

Server
Annapolis, MD, 06/12 - 08/14

Administrative Assistant
Annapolis, MD, 05/12 - 08/14

Sales Associate
Annapolis, MD, 05/07 - 09/10

About me

I began my childcare career at the age of 15 with a one-year-old and newborn in the neighborhood I grew up in. Ever since then I have had a deep love and appreciation for children and I believe that they teach us some of the most important lessons in life.

Over the last 10 years, I have had various babysitting and nanny jobs that vary greatly in children's ages, the number of children, job description, and type of family. I have cared for as many as five children (ages 3 months-9 years) at one time and I am very confident in my childcare abilities.

The most memorable and rewarding childcare opportunity thus far in my career would be my most recent which was a full-time position as a nanny for a family of 5 boys (ages 2 months, 2, 4, 7 and 10 years). These children were extremely active and creative. When I was spending time with the toddlers we usually read, sang, danced and painted. My time spent with the older boys was mostly occupied by football, soccer, cooking and going to karate classes. When we were all together we would tell stories, sing, laugh and talk about everyone's future dreams. Working for such a large family with exciting and extremely active children taught me many lessons about compassion, time management, play, and patience.

Along with being a caretaker, I am also a dancer and an actor which adds an element of creativity and excitement to my approach. I enjoy play and make-believe as well as sports, adventure and being active. I was a soccer player for 10 years of my life and played basketball for about three years. I love to sail, hike, rock climb, camp and I am a graduate of the North Carolina Outward Bound wilderness school. Cooking is one of my favorite hobbies and I greatly enjoy spending time in the kitchen with children creating new ideas and learning about nutrition.

I bring an empathetic and exciting approach to childcare and I believe my past jobs and extensive experience with children is reflective of that.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

I can usually be found taking dance or acting class, choreographing, reading, auditioning, cooking, attending galleries and concerts in the city. I also love to hike and explore the citys surrounding nature when I have the time. I am a very active person and I love to keep busy by experiencing the rich culture of NYC and trying new things.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

I hope to be further progressed in my career as an artist with a large portfolio of projects. I also hope to possibly have an MFA or a graduate degree in education.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

When I am with children I love to help them experience and learn as many new things as possible. Cooking is a great way for children to learn about nutrition and creativity. Teaching children (safely) how to prepare and cook food and choose ingredients is useful for life skills as well as cognitive learning. I very much enjoy playing sports with children. Physical activity is extremely important and a wonderful way to learn new things. Along with these activities I also enjoy reading with and to children from newborns to 10 year olds, playing make-believe, dancing, singing and exploring.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.