How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Kimberly L.

Education

SUNY Farmingdale State College,
Post-baccalaureate in Biology

Northwell Center for Learning,
Emergency Medical Technician Certificate

Fashion Institute of Technology,
B.S. in Marketing Communications
09/14-06/17

Childcare Experience

After-School Babysitter
Upper East Side, , 05/18 - Present
One boy, age 5 and one girl age 10

On-Demand Chime Babysitter
New York, NY, 01/15 - Present
Multiple families, various ages

Full-Time Summer Nanny
New York, NY, 07/15 - 09/15
One girl, age 3

Full-Time Summer Nanny
Manhasset, NY, 06/14 - 10/14
One boy, age 7 and One girl, age 2

Part-Time Babysitter and Tutor
Franklin Square, NY, 09/11 - 08/13
Two boys, ages 5 and 9, and One girl age 3

Summer Camp Counselor
Franklin Square, NY, 07/09 - 08/12
Multiple campers, ages 5-11

Part-Time Babysitter
Malverne, NY, 02/10 - 01/12
One boy age 11, and One girl, age 6

Professional Experience

Marketing Intern at DKNY
New York, NY, 09/16 - 05/17

Residential Assistant, Fashion Institute of Tech
New York, NY, 09/15 - 05/17

Student Ambassador at FIT
New York, NY, 04/15 - 01/16

About me

I started babysitting at 15 years old when a neighbor asked me to look after her three children. On a Friday evening in Long Island, I began my childcare journey which would continue for 10 years and counting. That evening, my maternal instincts, acquired from observing my mom and my aunt's care for their own children, suddenly emerged. At this moment, I felt an immense amount of gratitude for the inspirational women in my large extended Italian family. From camp counselor to full time summer nanny or part time sitter during the school year, my high school and undergraduate years were filled with many fun-packed hours working with children in a multitude of settings.
When I was a young child, I had quite the green thumb, at least my mom tells me. At 1 years old, my mom would find me with my hands elbow deep in the dirt of her houseplants. I enjoyed feeling the textures in my world, which explains why I loved trips to the beach. When the weather wasn’t suitable for the beach, my brother and I would play dress up or cook together in our play kitchen. Growing up, I was always a conscientious student. My academic achievements have always been really important. I graduated high school in the top 10% of my class with an advanced diploma. After high school, I was awarded a merit scholarship to attend Loyola University Maryland. After a year in Baltimore, I transferred to Fashion Institute of Technology in order to pursue a more creative degree. I lived in NYC during my three years at FIT, while simultaneously working as a Residential Assistant for the college, babysitting, and interning. At FIT, I studied the history of fashion and art, fashion merchandising, advertising and marketing.
In 2017, I graduated FIT with Magna Cum Laude honors. After I graduated, I began working at a Media Agency. After a year, I felt the marketing and advertising industry was not the right fit for me. I missed working closely with children so I decided to go back to school to earn a masters in teaching to influence and shape the next generation of children.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

When I'm not SmartSitting, I'm usually found museum hopping, reading the next book on my list, weaving wall tapestries or learning a new crafting skill, exploring the great outdoors on hikes, doing yoga/meditation at home, taking photos of my loved ones/friends, listening to records, going on long strolls with my dog, or tending to my plant babies.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

a high school biology teacher.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I am a master DIY crafter because of the craft classes I have enrolled in and the hours here and there that I have devoted to watching Youtube videos. I would love to tackle any arts and crafts project with your children, specifically watercolor painting, weaving on a loom, creating lanyard stitches, or any other crafts you can think of. I am currently on an intermediate level of speaking and writing Italian. I have taken 6.5 years of Italian, from 7th grade of high school to one semester of Italian while studying abroad in Florence. I know basic signs from 3 years of American Sign Language in high school and one semester in college. I know some Spanish words from my father's side of the family as well as from working in the service industry. I am an avid reader so I enjoy reading to/with children. I think storytelling is a great skill to harness for children. I have yet to write a short story with the children I have babysat but I am itching to create a choose your own adventure type of book with the future children I babysit for. I enjoy learning about different cultures so when time allows for it, I try to see other states or countries. I believe it is important to share my knowledge of cultural differences with the children I babysit for. In spring of 2015, I studied abroad in Florence, in which I learned about Italian culture and I was able to see a majority of Italy and Europe. In the summer of 2017, I backpacked to Southeast Asia and traveled to five countries to see the major tourist sights.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.