For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Rachel D.

Education

NYU,
Masters Program in Poetry

Hampshire College,
B.A. in English Literature and Creative Writing

National Outdoor Leadership School,
Semester in the Rockies

Simon's Rock of Bard College,
A.A. Liberal Arts

St. Ann's School for the Arts,

Sarah Lawrence College,
Transfer Student

Childcare Experience

Part Time Nanny
Nantucket, MA, 03/11 - 07/13
One girl, age 5 months, one boy, age 1 (my own boy

Full Time Nanny
New York, NY, 04/15 - 05/16
One girl, age 7 months, and one boy, age 3

Professional Experience

Server, A few different restaurants
New York, NY, 09/92 - 09/96

Teaching Assistant, Nantucket High School
Nantucket, Massachusetts, 09/98 - 08/04

Substitute Teacher, Nantucket Public Schools
Nantucket, MA, 09/05 - 07/09

Tutoring
Nantucket, Ma, 09/05 - 07/09

Legal Secretary, Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe
New York, NY, 09/96 - 09/97

Wellness Advocate, doTERRA International
New York, NY, 04/15 - Present

Legal Secretary, Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe
New York, NY, 10/96 - 09/97

About me

I love working with children because they have open eyes, open minds, and open hearts. They see the world around us as a rich, engaging classroom, and the most seemingly ordinary moments become extraordinary opportunities for discovery. I love working with children because they ask the most interesting questions, and are the keenest observers, and express themselves freely without self-censorship. It is truly exciting to see them evolve as their minds develop and they learn to master language and their creativity burgeons. It’s wonderful to watch them becoming aware of themselves and others as they learn to make friends, help others, and work through conflicts.

I have a Massachusetts teaching certification in secondary English Language Arts, and have worked for many years as a teacher and tutor in Nantucket, Massachusetts. I attended NYU's graduate program in Poetry on a full scholarship and fellowship. I later studied acting at HB Studios and performed on stage frequently with the Theater Workshop of Nantucket. In 2009 I gave birth to my son, and embarked on the most joyous journey of my life- motherhood. While I stayed at home for a few years to raise him, I took care of other babies and toddlers in my home. I returned to work, teaching Spanish to children ages five through thirteen at a Waldorf based school called the Nantucket Lighthouse School, after which my son and I relocated to the city of my birth, New York City.

It has been a wonderful and gratifying experience to share my love of literature and the arts and education with children. My work with children involves creating security, structure and consistency while also allowing them the freedom to play and be spontaneous, to role play and imagine and stop along the way to notice the world that is waiting to be discovered. I love to read and sing with children as much as doing arts and crafts, dressing up and building forts and getting into nature and concocting culinary meals both imagined and real. I’m a big believer in hands-on learning and the value of free play, balanced by enrichment activities and creating routines. I believe in encouraging their individuality while also setting clear and consistent guidelines. In my work with kids I actively involve myself to keep them engaged. It doesn't actually feel like work-- there's nothing more fun and interesting than being with kids.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Hanging out with my best friend, my 6-year-old son, or pursuing my passion as a Wellness Advocate with doTERRA International. When I get some free time from working and parenting, I am spending time with friends, writing a memoir, reading, or watching a good film. I also love to hear live music or go dancing. And I am an avid runner, which is a kind of meditation in motion for me.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

A doTERRA Diamond, a published author, and a NY Marathoner.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to do crafts with children and engage in art processes, as well as playing dress-up or putting on plays and puppet shows. I love to sing and dance with children. I love to read with children, and have them read to me. I love take walks in nature and notice the changing light and colors of the leaves, or jump in leaf piles, or to put on galoshes and jump in puddles when it rains. I love to to bake and cook with children, and make food that's both fun and nutritious. As a child my father taught me how to bake and build a gingerbread castle, complete with tall walls and stained glass windows made from crushed Life Savers, which glimmer and glow when you put a votive candle inside them. It's a tradition I have passed on to my son, and would love to share with other families as well. I am also committed to nutrition and knowledgeable about food allergies and special diets. With older kids I'm able to give homework help and tutor and prep them for tests.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.