How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Carolyn E.

Education

Manhattan College,
B.A. in English

Upright Citizens Brigade Training Center,
Completed coursework in Improvisational Comedy

Childcare Experience

Sitter for Traveling Family
New York, NY, 07/18 - 07/18
One boy and one girl, ages 7 and 5

Mommy's Helper
Brooklyn, NY, 06/18 - 07/18
One girl, age 2

Sitter for Traveling Family
New York, NY, 07/18 - 07/18
One boy and one girl, ages 3 and 5.

Sitter for Traveling Family
New York, NY, 06/18 - 06/18
One girl, age 4 months

Morning and After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 09/17 - 05/18
Two boys and one girl, ages 14, 12, and 11

After-School Sitter
New York, NY, 05/18 - 05/18
One boy and one girl, ages 13 and 11

Professional Experience

Assistant PreK Teacher at Imagine ELC
New York, NY, 09/17 - Present

Sitter for Sitters Studio
New York, NY, 05/18 - Present

Tutor for Lil' Eggheads
New York, NY, 04/18 - Present

Daycare Teacher at Imagine ELC
New York, NY, 03/17 - 09/17

Daycare Teacher at Kidville University
Riverdale, NY, 09/16 - 03/17

Camp Counselor at ESF Camps
Riverdale, NY, 06/16 - 08/16

About me

As one of the oldest in a family with five children, I could almost say that I have been working in child care since the age of 8, but the actual age in which I began my career as a childcare professional was 16. My favorite part of working with children is being able to facilitate their natural inclination to play and explore. I believe one of the most important things for healthy childhood development is allowing them to learn by exploring their world.

I am an improvisational comedian so I love being able to goof around and be silly with kids. I do this while also making sure that children know that when they are playing, either with me or with other children, the best way to have fun is to communicate using their words instead of their bodies.

I have been working more extensively as a child care provider over the last two years. I have worked as a camp counselor, as a day care teacher, as a dance and gymnastics teacher for ages 4 to 7, as a preschool teacher, as a short- and long-term sitter for many different families, and as a math, writing and reading tutor for children ages 4 to 7.

I am excited to work with families who understand that children need to explore and ask questions and make mistakes in order to learn how to navigate their own minds and bodies, and to learn to navigate their world.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Performing improvisational comedy, reading, running, or hiking. I absolutely love being outdoors and in nature as much as I can throughout the day!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Working toward my Master's in Early Childhood Education or in Environmental Studies, I'm still trying to figure it out!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I am a preschool teacher and one of my favorite activities to do with children is dance and do yoga (especially on rainy or snowy days). Kids love to move their bodies and be creative, so often when I am doing yoga I will have the children help me to create a story as we do it. One time some children wanted to pretend to go camping while we were doing yoga so I had them pretend to climb up a mountain and then I had them use their bodies to make themselves into a tent!


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.