How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Astride N.

Education

Columbia College,
Film/Screenwriting

Childcare Experience

Part-Time Babysitter
Culver City, CA, 09/17 - 08/19
Two Boys, ages 4 and 8

Part-Time Babysitter
Culver City, Culver City, 08/17 - 05/19
One Girl, age 1

Part-time Babysitter
Culver City, CA, 01/08 - 05/19
One boy and One girl, ages 10 and 13

Temporary Live-in Nanny
Millerton, New York, 10/18 - 03/19
One Girl, One Boy - 7 and 9

Nanny
Sherman Oaks, CA, 02/17 - 07/18
One boy, age 2

Nanny
Culver City, CA, 06/18 - 06/18
One boy, Age 7

Live-in (Full time) Nanny
New Orleans, LA, 08/11 - 08/16
Three girls, and one boy, ages 7, 9, 3 (Twins)

Part-Time Nanny
Brooklyn, New York, Present - 12/-1
One boy and One Girl, ages 1 and 4

Professional Experience

Casting Associate
Atlanta, Georgia, 09/14 - Present

About me

My name is Astride and I have been working in the childcare industry for over 20 years. From the age of 12, families have entrusted me with the care of their precious children, and I feel honored.

I offer families a great deal of flexibility. I have traveled with my employers, I have done overnights, and I worked as a live-in. I am a pro when it comes to establishing sleep schedules, potty training, developing comprehension skills, and implementing effective disciplinary systems that concentrate on taking preventative measures -- translation: I can help with toddler tantrums. I've worked with children of all ages from newborns, to preteens. I have experience with colic syndrome, helping parents transition back to work after giving birth, keeping a detailed journal of feeding times, bowel movements, naps and other pertinent information. I keep parents updated with pictures, and one of my greatest skills is my communication skills. I see it as my duty to be a team player!

I'm a creative nanny who uses a lot of out-of-the-box methods in order to reach children. I'm known for using my obsession with musicals to orchestrate musical numbers using stuffed animals. I am a big believer of educational fun time-- and I like to keep kids busy with adventurous outings, art, music, dance, science experiments, baking projects and reading. I focus on nourishing independence by letting children practice things on their own in a safe environment, offering options, while setting boundaries. I've developed strong bonds with my families. I have worked with parents with demanding professions, and I make it my top priority to be a team player who works for the betterment of the children.

I have been practicing strict social distancing, and I follow all proper protocols.

A few extra perks is that I can help with beginner to intermediate French, I love to cook healthy and tasty meals, and I'm always up for embarrassing myself for a good laugh.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

I love dancing to musicals (and you'll most likely hear it playing all the time if I am in your home). I like to try new recipes, although I ignore half the instructions to create my own my thing. I enjoy taking long walks in the city, biking, visiting museums, traveling, playing, and being silly.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

making significant strides in my career.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I like to teach life skills such as cooking, making the bed, folding, cleaning up, how to properly cross the street, use the bus and trains and so on. I have a theory that teaching children responsibility is one of the best ways to limit misbehavior because they then have the room to set their own boundaries, and often times they want to get things right when given that chance. Plus, children love it when you trust them to do things on their own.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.