For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Amanda G.

Education

School of The Art Institute of Chicago,
Bachelor in Fine Art

Childcare Experience

Occasional Babysitter
New York, New York, 12/07 - Present
Girl, age 9

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, New York, 11/13 - 08/14
Boy, age 3, Girl, age 9

Live-In Nanny
Sag Harbor, New York, 06/13 - 08/13
Girl, age 2

Bunk Counselor
Long Lake, New York, 06/09 - 08/09
Twenty-eight girls, 6-9

Bunk Counselor
Long Lake, New York, 06/10 - 08/11
Eighteen girls, ages 10-12

Part-Time Babysitter
Chicago, Illinois, 09/10 - 06/11
Boy, age 7

Professional Experience

Creative Arts Specialist and Ceramics Instructor
New York, New York, 06/14 - 08/14

Guest Muralist and Art Instructor
Dobbs Ferry, New York, 03/12 - 03/12

Volunteer Art Instructor
Chicago, Illinois, 09/09 - 05/10

Volunteer Art Instructor
New York, New York, 09/05 - 06/06

Printmedia Instructor
Long Lake, New York, 06/09 - 08/11

Assistant Art Instructor
Bridgehampton, New York, 06/08 - 09/08

About me

I have been working with children since I was a child myself. My mother is a physical therapist and, when I was young, she would regularly bring me along to house calls, calling us a "team". Often, my mothers clients would have kids of their own and while they were engaged in therapy, I would watch over their children, playing games, keeping them them occupied and out of trouble. Eventually, at the age of 12, this lead to my first job as a Mothers Helper: Wednesdays and Fridays, after school.

By the time I was in High School, I was a regular date-night babysitter for a wide age-range of children, from infant to elementary. My primary clients were a family with two children, a little girl, age 2, and her brother, age 4. In addition to being a part-time nanny, I began volunteering at Art Access, a program that offers a creative outlet for the children of battered women and victims of Domestic Violence. During this time, I also started a chapter of ICL (Institute for Civic Leadership) as an extra curricular at my school, offering leadership training to my peers, inspiring them to believe in a cause and feel as though they were capable of making positive change in our world.

Through College, I worked as a nanny for one of my professors and her daughter, age 7. In the Summer of my Freshman year, I got a job at a day camp as their Art Instructor. There, I organized lesson plans and lead classes for 4-5 groups of children each day, ranging from 4-9 years old. In the three Summers following, I worked as a bunk counselor for girls ages 6-9 and print media instructor in the fine art department of a summer camp, leading classes for boys and girls 6-16.

After college, I began working within the field of my diploma, Fine Art. I interned with top New York galleries, Lehman Maupin and Gagosian, working respectively in public relations and project management, assisting in a large Picasso and Francoise Gilot exhibition. While I was able to learn an extraordinary amount during these gallery experiences, my primary take-away was that the Fine Art world doesn't make me happy. Currently, I am revisiting the idea of going back to school and have been researching Graduate programs to get my Masters in Education. I aim to be enrolled in the Winter or Fall of 2016 and until then, I hope to spend my time doing something that I feel is validating: creating positive and influential relationships with children, encouraging and expanding their interests while pushing them to grow to be the best that they can be.... namely, being your nanny :)


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

I try to stay updated with current museum and gallery exhibitions as well as keep up my own artistic practice. I am excited by natural building techniques and have attended workshops around the country to learn more about homesteading. I love being outdoors as much as possible- swimming, camping, kayaking and hiking. Recently, I rode my bicycle down the East Coast of the US. I began my journey in upstate New York, traveled along the Coast, around Florida, eventually ending up in New Orleans, Louisiana. Back in New York, I cycle around the City and practice yoga regularly.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In five years I hope to have my Masters in Education and to be working as an Art Teacher.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

In addition to the essentials (transportation, homework help, meal planning, etc) I ALWAYS try to find time for something fun-- whether it's playing in the park, planning a science project, impromptu dance recital, baking cookies or starting a DIY craft project, It's important to listen to their passions and let kids be kids!


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.