For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Amber S.

Education

Lone Star College,
Currently Pursuing B.A. in Childhood Education

Childcare Experience

Full Time Nanny/Personal Assistant
The Woodlands, TX, 05/08 - 05/14
Twins, age 2, one boy and one girl

Full Time Nanny
Columbus, GA, 06/14 - 07/17
One girl, age 1 month

Full Time Nanny/Family Assistant
New York, NY, 10/17 - Present
Two boys, ages 1 and 4

Professional Experience

Freelance Makeup Artist
Columbus, GA, 01/15 - 08/17

Spa Concierges
Columbus, GA, 06/15 - 06/16

About me

Growing up, I watched my mom working with children. I saw her transform into SuperMom during the summer months as she cared for 14 children! She even traded her car in for an industrial mini van for the summers. Watching her be a teacher during the school year and SuperMom during the summers put a flame in my heart that I knew I wanted to be just like her.

I enjoy giving each child my utmost attention and make them feel special in their own way. I feel rewarded when a child has accomplished something, whether it be from walking, potty training or making an A on a test they studied long and hard for. Seeing how excited and happy they get makes me proud that I could help them achieve what they have been working so hard toward. When caring for children, I believe it is important to create an environment that supports one’s exploration while also promoting fun and innovative ways to learn and create. I have worked for infants to young adolescents, including twins. I have cared for numerous aged children when I volunteered my summers and weekends at a children’s nonprofit organization.

On weekends if I'm not spending time outdoors with my dogs and husband, my evenings usually consist of baking cakes, cookies and brownies (even though I don’t like chocolate)! Growing up on a farm in Texas, I have experienced caring for many animals including horses, cattle and chickens, so in my spare time I take pleasure in volunteering at local animal shelters. I also enjoy the beach, hiking in State Parks, shopping and yoga.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

At a park with my dogs, fishing, shopping or practicing yoga.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

A school counselor!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love teaching a child about courtesy, honesty and love because I think these are a huge part in one’s life whether you're a child or an adult.


© 2019 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.