For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Sherlanda I.

Education

Kingsborough Community College,
A.S. In Mathematics

Childcare Experience

Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 07/17 - Present
Twin boy and girl, age 4 and one girl, age newborn

Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 09/16 - 06/17
On boy, age 4 and two girls, age 2 and newborn

Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 07/15 - 09/16
One boy and one girl, age 15 months and newborn

After-School Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 10/12 - 07/15
One boy and one girl, age 4 and 6

Nanny
New York, NY, 10/14 - 06/15
11 month old boy/girl twins

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 03/13 - 09/14
One boy, age 6 weeks

Professional Experience

Office Coordinator
New York, NY, 04/19 - Present

Program Director
Brooklyn, NY, 04/06 - 07/12

Administrative Assistant
Brooklyn, NY, 06/08 - 06/12

Personal Assistant
Brooklyn, NY, 12/09 - 01/12

About me

I was born and raised in St. Lucia and moved to NY at the age of 16, right after what we "secondary school", the equivalent to high school in the US. As a child I loved reading and being outdoors and could often be found high up in a tree somewhere reading a book! I also loved school, especially Mathematics and also enjoyed playing the steel pan when I wasn't studying. This led to my getting a AS in Math when while working with a non-profit who specialized in after-school cultural programs. From there my love of working with children grew as I worked closely with children from elementary age to high school and would occasionally babysit some of them as well. I was very happy with my job but I wanted a job where I could just focus on one nanny which led to my start of my nanny career.

I am a compassionate, loving, flexible nanny who adores children of all ages, yet I can be firm when necessary. I have worked both part time and full time from the newborn stage up to 9 years old also as an occasional and date night sitter for all of my older families. I have also worked with siblings and twins and as such I have I experience with multiples. I enjoy bringing my love of art, dance, outdoors, healthy foods, great imagination, and exploration to children.
I believe in creating a positive, happy environment for my changes where they feel safe to explore and try new things. I love spending time outside in the park, playdates, the museum and activities of that nature. I also love listening to music, playing games, reading stories, doing puzzles and singing and dancing along with my charges.

My child-rearing philosophy can be summed up as "respect everyone". Complimenting children for good efforts and working on redirecting any bad habits is a passion of mine. I do not raise my voice casually and I absolutely do not believe in physical violence or in "guilt tripping". Once a sincere apology or an effort to change has been made, the bad deed is forgotten and everyone can start fresh without resentments. My goal is to raise emotionally healthy children, who can recognize the basis of their feelings and still maintain a sunny outlook in life.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)

I will be SmartSitting while...

When I'm not working with kids I'm usually checking out new authors, going for walks in new places and also playing the steel drums. I also go to the gym regularly.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

I hope to to run a few businesses, a clothing brand, a consulting firm as well as babysitting company.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I share my love of music with children and tend to play all genres when they're with me. I hope to expose them to different sounds. I have also from time to time brought my instrument to work to teach the children some basic steel drum skills.


© 2019 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.