For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Hope W.


University of California Santa Barbara,
Microbiology (Major) | Global Peace & Security (Mi

London Academy of Music & Dramatic Art,
One Year Masters Program in Stage Performance

Childcare Experience

Weekend Sitter
Williamsburg (Brooklyn), New York, 01/19 - Present
2 Year old Twins (Boy and Girl)

Part-Time Babysitter
Upper West Side (Manhattan), New York, 01/19 - Present
1 year old girl

Morning Routine (Breakfast & School Drop Off)
Tribeca (Manhattan), New York, 01/19 - Present
5 year old boy and 2 year old girl

Part-Time Babysitter
Chelsea (Manhattan), New York, 12/18 - Present
3 year old girl

After School Sitter & Tutor
New York, NY, 10/18 - Present
One boy, age 11

Babysitter (On call/as needed)
New York, NY, 05/18 - Present
Two boys, age infant and 2

Part-time Nanny/Tutor
Battery Park City (Manhattan), New York, 01/19 - 03/19
Girl (Age 11) and Boy (Age 5)

Temp Babysitter
Los Angeles, CA, 09/18 - 09/18
One girl, age 1

Summer Babysitter
New York, NY, 05/18 - 08/18
One girl, age 7

Temp Babysitter
New York, NY, 07/18 - 07/18
One girl, age 1

After School Sitter & Tutor
Los Angeles, CA, 01/13 - 12/17
Three girls, age 3 -15

Professional Experience

Assistant Editor (Freelance)
New York, NY, 12/17 - Present

Filmmaking Fellow at IFP/ Made in NY Media Center
New York, NY, 01/18 - 12/18

VFX Production Assistant
New York, NY, 07/18 - 10/18

Freelance Digital Dailies Technician
New York, NY, 06/18 - 10/18

About me

Hello! My name is Hope and I am a writer and filmmaker. I am a very experienced, patient and enthusiastic sitter and tutor. I live in Manhattan (Upper West Side) and I work as a tutor and babysitter while completing a fellowship and taking classes.

I am quite passionate about storytelling and love bringing characters to life and any activities that include imagination and creativity. I was a 2018 'Made in NY' Media Center Incubator Fellowship recipient, for which I wrote, directed and produced an anthology project that was selected for the 2018 IFP Screen Forward Labs and IFP Film Week. I love the arts and enjoy encouraging artistic development in children, especially in terms of helping them find their unique creative voice and expressing it in fun ways!

I have spent the past year working for a New York City based professional nanny/sitter service and I am eager and happy to connect with new SmartSitting families! My childcare experience includes tutoring and babysitting children of various ages, and also supervising arts and craft based activities for children at festivals and private events. I am very comfortable helping children with homework, reading comprehension, basic french and biological sciences. I enjoy planning fun activities around each child's interests.

I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

When I am not babysitting or tutoring I focus on writing, acting and filmmaking. I often freelance on Film and TV productions, take writing and film-related classes or attend independent film screenings. Aside from that, I also love to travel and take one big trip each year. My most recent trip was to visit New Zealand and Australia. It was incredible and I hope to go back again soon! Since moving to New York 2 years ago, I began an extensive list of places to visit and things to do in the city and I try to do 1-2 things on my list per week. However, the list keeps growing faster than I can cross items off, so am no where near completing it!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

A successful writer, director and multimedia producer. I absolutely love stories and storytelling! There is nothing I enjoy more than exploring a new world or highlighting unusual perspectives through humour or creative approaches to storytelling. My favourite films include Pan's Labyrinth, Amelie, Before Sunrise, and Her. Eventually, I'd love to one day produce a story reflective of my Yoruba culture and heritage.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Photography, Writing, Arts and Crafts, Logic and Strategy games like Chess and Checkers. I'm pretty active and enjoy gym-related activities and I especially love yoga. One of my absolute favourite activities to do is plan photography scavenger hunts. Kids absolutely love it! I usually plan a fun (Parent-approved) treat or reward at the end and if they're interested we put together an album or fun presentation to show mum and dad their scavenging adventure! I like to stay up to date as much as I can on local art related exhibits and events, especially if they are child friendly.

© 2019 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.