How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Ellen F.

Education

LaGuardia Community College,
Emergency Medical Technician, EMT
June 2017

Hunter School of Social Work,
Master of Social Work (MSW)

Florida Atlantic University,
Bachelors of Arts in Education
Special Education K-12, Elementary Education K-5

Childcare Experience

Occasional Babysitter
Woodmere, NY, 04/05 - Present
3 girls, ages 5,11, and 13

Part-time occasionally when needed
Woodmere, NY, 02/16 - Present
3 girls, ages 4 ,7 and 12

After-School Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 11/15 - 06/17
2 boys ages 7, 4 and girl, age 1

Part-Time Babysitter and Tutor
Ridgewood, NY, 07/14 - 10/15
1 boy, age 9

After- School Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 04/03 - 09/11
Two children, twins ages 5

Live-in Nanny
Grand Cayman, Cayman Island, 06/96 - 08/98
4 children, ages 4, 7,11,12

Professional Experience

RAPP HS Social Worker
New York, NY, 10/02 - Present

After school GED Tutor
New York, NY, 05/10 - 06/12

ESL and Fine Arts Teacher
New Haven, CT, 06/99 - 08/02

High School Social Work Intern
New York, NY, 09/01 - 06/02

Program Social Work Intern
Long Island City, NY, 09/00 - 06/01

About me

Hi My name is Ellen. I am a kind, compassionate, caring, warm person, who is creative and artistic. I adore children and truly enjoy spending time with them doing fun activities. I have been working with children since I was 12 years old. In middle and high school, I babysat for families from my synagogue. I also began babysitting for many families in my neighborhood, who were not members of my synagogue and would frequently babysit for families who had children with special needs. I have babysat for newborns, twins, children, and adults with special needs. Parents of the children I worked with would often have me stay overnight when they would go out of town for work.

Over the years, I worked with one family who had three children with developmental delays and another family who has a child who is profoundly mentally handicapped, autistic and nonverbal. During college, I was a live in nanny for 4 children ages 4-13 for a year, the oldest having special needs. I pride myself on making sure the child in my care always feels safe and taken care of. This mean not only being loving but also nicely setting firm limits to keep the child safe. I encourage fun, exploration and growth in a safe, secure environment. I am a hands on babysitter and whenever I babysit, I play with the children, help them with their homework, take them to/from school, feed them meals and put them to bed.

In college, I studied elementary and special education, to obtain my teaching degree. As a college junior, my material aunt became ill and I was the primary caregiver for my two first cousins, ages, 12 and 9. After her passing, the children moved in with their father and I was going to return back to school. However, I was then given the opportunity to work for my aunt's best friend, as a nanny for her four children, ages 4-12, one having special needs. I decided to take a year off of my undergraduate studies and worked for this family a year, living with them in the Cayman Islands. During the school day, I would go to their school and volunteer in the classrooms. After school, I would work with the children on their school work, tutoring them in all subjects. After the year ended, the family moved to Connecticut. I then worked for them for the next 5 summer vacations, taking the children to their summer activities and tutoring them in school work.

Once I received my teaching degree, I moved from Florida to Connecticut and was an in-house tutor for students in grades 5-12 at a very academically rigorous private school. Although I was based in the school, I worked for the parents directly. I spent two years working at this private school and would frequently stay at the homes of the students, when their parents would go away for a weekend. The children I would stay and babysit for were from ages 10-17. I then began working at the Exploration Summer Program (Explo), first at Wellesley College and then at Yale University and spent the next 5 summers as an ESL teacher, residential advisor, and residential director. I also taught classes in arts and crafts, painting and drawing. Additionally, I coordinated sports activities with the students. As an Explo staff member, I was in charge of the physical, emotional and mental health of the 800 high school students who attended the 6 week program.

I pursued my Masters Degree in Social Work and I have worked with high schoolers (grades 9-12) for the last 16 years. I work for a domestic violence agency, where I run a preventative program called Relationship Abuse Prevention Program, (RAPP). RAPP is an anti-violence, anti-bullying, peer leadership program at a public high school in New York City. RAPP students participate in individual and group counseling, are trained on how to prevent violence in their communities, participate in community service and go on social trips. Although I have been CPR and first aid certified since high school. Two years ago, I took a four month Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) class and was certified in June 2017.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Working in an NYC high school as a social worker, running my anti-violence, anti-bullying, leadership program with an incredible group of teenagers. The students not only learn how to better themselves but others. We go on trip and pride ourselves on the community service we do to help other. When I am not working, I love to spend time with my friend and family. I also love upcycling old furniture, painting and decorating it so it has a new life and so it can stay out of landfills! I love going to the gym and playing sports, such as basketball, skateboarding, inline skating and hockey. My favorite outdoor activities in the summer are camping and whitewater rafting.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Trying to make the world be a better, kinder place by working as a social worker running my anti-violence, anti-bullying peer leadership program for amazing group of inspiring teenager. I believe that the work we do with our youth today will directly impact the world we live in tomorrow. I also hope to be babysitting as I love having the privilege of time; to watch a child grow from a baby to an adult is a blessing. Since I have been babysitting since I was a teenager, some of the children I babysat for now have young children of their own. Nothing warms my heart more and honestly brings tears to my eyes then having an adult I babysat for as a child, call me and say, "You know Ellen, I remember how much fun we had when you babysat for me as a kid. I want you to know that I try to treat my child, the same way you treated me".

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

As a teacher and social worker love to teach children. My favorite things to teach are arts and crafts, playing sports / doing activities outside and reading fun books. I have a love of learning and enjoy talking about science and how things work ( there is always a "teachable moment"), building tents and forts, playing board games and the art of living, loving and appreciating the fun moments we have in life.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.