For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Diana S.

Education

SUNY Purchase,
BFA Acting

Childcare Experience

Part-time Babysitter
New York, NY, 10/14 - Present
Girl, 3; twin boys, age 8

Part-time Babysitter
New York, NY, 06/14 - Present
Girl, age 7; boy, age 6

After-School Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 01/11 - 04/12
Boy, age 5; girl, age 7

After-School Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 09/10 - 12/10
Girl, age 5; boy, age 7

Part-Time Babysitter
Brooklyn, New York, 10/15 - 04/16
One boy, 20 months old

After-School Brooklyn
Brooklyn, New York, 01/15 - 04/16
Two boys: 4 and 7

Professional Experience

Reiki Healer, Brooklyn Acupuncture Project
Brooklyn, NY, 04/16 - Present

Maha Rose
Brooklyn, NY, 03/17 - Present

Co-Teacher of Fairy School at Maha Rose
Brooklyn, NY, 01/17 - 03/17

Literary Associate Rattlestick Plawrights Theater
New York City, NY, 01/10 - 05/13

Instructor, Curious Jane Camps at Marymount
New York, NY, 07/13 - 08/14

Teaching Artist, Bronx Arts Ensemble
Bronx, NY, 01/14 - 06/14

Bartender & Food Runner, Momofuku's Ma Peche
New York, NY, 07/13 - 05/14

Receptionist, Weekend Manager Space on White
New York, NY, 04/11 - 09/13

About me

Hi!

This is Diana, Bay Area native living in Brooklyn.

I have a BFA in Acting from the Conservatory of Theater and Film at Purchase College and have been working in downtown theater and with kids ever since.

One of the things I've loved and learned about working with kids is patience. Kids require a huge amount of patience, empathy and creativity. I've loved working with kids who wouldn't necessarily open up with everyone and providing a safe space for them to express themselves. And a safe space for them to finish their homework without tearing it to bits. ;)

I've loved working with families through major milestones like first words, walking, potty training, first play dates, organizing birthday parties, lemonade stands and family trips.

An outdoorsy person, I value physical play outdoors. Going to the park with a ball, bubbles or a bunch of chalk. Going for bike rides. Or a simple walk around the neighborhood can be a source of exercise, education and empathy. I've also been living in New York City for eight years and know how to travel around efficiently, it's the Virgo in me.

The Virgo in me also loves to help kids with their homework and discover new words. I'm hungry for knowledge myself and love to promote this sort of wonder and interest in the world around me. Families have valued me for my absolute patience, my knowledge of tween mags (like Rookie, like the American Girls) and because I've taught at the very popular all girls after-school program, Curious Jane. I'm also a finalist for the National Playwrights Conference, a Sewanee Playwright Fellow and a finalist for the Playwriting program at Juilliard. This is to say that I am obsessed with words and enjoy making up songs with the kiddos who are just learning theirs.

Mostly I really love people and value helping families through this important time.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Working at the wellness center Maha Rose. Co-Teaching an after school program called Fairy School. Co-Teaching classes with Curious Jane. Writing, performing and developing. Seeing Reiki clients. Going for hikes. Riding my bike. Going to the gardens or museum with my friend. Co-hosting wellness events.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Happy with a garden filled with herbs and a partner. Doing creative and healing work. Maybe have a dog or a cat. Going on a vacation to Mexico with my family.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Love of language! Reading! Making up songs and creating music. Dancing. Water drinking challenges. Endurance. Stamina. Focus. Breaking down complicated homework (or life) problems into small doable steps. My love of Swell water bottles. My love of glitter. My love for trees. My love for flowers and bees. My love for the water around New York City, the ferry, the water taxi. Kindness to a friend. Telling an adult if someone or something is bothering you. Asking for help when you need it. Speaking up for yourself. Listening when it's time.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.