How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Polly J.

Education

New York University Gallatin School of Individuali,
M.A. Individualized Study (ex. May 2022)

New York University, Tisch School of the Arts,
Bachelor of Fine Arts in Dance, Art History Minor

Childcare Experience

Part-Time Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 03/19 - Present
One girl, age 2

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 06/18 - Present
Two boys ages 5 and 11, one girl age 9

Part-Time Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 04/18 - Present
One girl, age 7

Part-Time Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 04/19 - 12/19
One girl age 6, one boy age 10

Part-Time Babysitter
Santa Cruz, CA, 05/17 - 12/19
One girl, age 6 months

After-School Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 01/19 - 06/19
One girl, age 6

Professional Experience

Professional Dancer
New York, NY, 05/18 - Present

Choreographer
New York, NY, 05/18 - Present

Dance Teacher
Los Angeles, CA, 09/14 - Present

Director of Communications for a non-profit
Los Angeles and New York, CA, NY, 01/20 - 12/20

Business Development Intern
New York, NY, 09/20 - 12/20

Dog Walker
New York, NY, 09/17 - 12/20

Front Desk Staff, Gym
New York, NY, 05/18 - 06/19

Personal Assistant to Choreographer
New York, NY, 09/17 - 05/18

About me

Growing up in a dance studio in Los Angeles, I was always around older girls and boys who I looked up to. I am an older sister to one brother so I always had my eye on older kids. When I became the older girl and was presented with the opportunity to teach ballet, tap, jazz, and hip-hop, I was ecstatic to share my passion for dance with my community. Teaching toddlers to teenagers presented itself with a series of challenges that I took on with care, kindness, and playfulness, and I have immense appreciation for the patience and creativity I acquired along the way. Now ten years later, working with children and aiding in their artistic pursuits has become a part of my identity. As an NYU Gallatin School of Individualized Study M.A. student and an NYU Tisch School of the Arts Department of Dance alumni, I am proud of my intersection of my professional dance career and love for children.

I have been fortunate to meet many wonderful families and develop reciprocal relationships where I not only share what I love, but learn from the children as well. From one year olds to teenagers, I enjoy learning and playing alongside these kids and teens as we develop interests, hobbies, and skills. Reading, writing, make-believe, and dancing are some of my favorite activities and it is so fulfilling to be alongside children in their discoveries of their interests.I have a passion for education and instruction, both as a teacher and a student. I believe that participating fully in mind, body, and spirit is the best way to learn and if getting dirty is a part of that process, I am there every step of the way, including clean up!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Playing with my dog Theo, dancing, working on my Master's research, running (for fun!), reading anything and everything, lost in a museum, wandering through the park, or practicing yoga

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Close to finishing my PhD in Anthropology, living in Sweden and dancing for the opera, and seeing the world healthy and safe from COVID-19.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to share my passion for dance, learn new things, invent new games, do arts and crafts, creative problem-solve, have fun getting messy and even more fun cleaning up, cooking/baking (if age appropriate), and immersing ourselves in nature.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.