How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Leah M.

Education

University of Michigan,
B.F.A. in Musical Theatre

Childcare Experience

Nanny
Brooklyn, , 09/19 - 09/20
Two girls, ages 8 and 10 and One boy.

Substitute Teacher
Anchorage, AK, 10/17 - 04/18
10-30 students at a time, ages ranging from 3-19

Nanny/Babysitter
Ann Arbor, MI, 09/15 - 05/17
0-3 Children (boys and girls), ages 4-12

Sunday School Teacher
Traverse City, MI, 09/11 - 05/13
2-10 children, ages 3-12

Professional Experience

Entertainment Performer for Disney Cruise Lines
Overseas, Overseas, 06/18 - 03/19

Substitute Teacher
Anchorage, AK, 10/17 - 04/18

Housekeeper
Anchorage, AK, 06/16 - 08/16

About me

Born and raised in Anchorage, Alaska, I have always had a strong sense of adventure and creativity. It's easy for one to get bored in the middle of nowhere so therefore, I have a lifetime's experience in finding ways to create and entertain! This has now lead to a career in Musical Theatre. I am a singer, dancer and avid Disney fan, having both worked for Disney as a performer, as well as having been raised on all of the classic films.

Childcare has always played a major part in my life. I grew up with a younger brother whom I adore and would babysit almost daily during my pre-teen years. As I got older, I would assist my mother - our Sunday school/nursery teacher- in her classroom.

At 15, I went to a boarding arts high school in Michigan, where I ended up becoming the Sunday School teacher at my local church there and that was when the childcare bug really hit me. I had so much fun making crafts with the kids, singing our favorite songs and learning together! Once I got to college (University of Michigan, BFA Musical Theatre), my professors quickly pegged me as a lover-of-children and I began babysitting for them whenever my schedule would allow it. Post-college I took a year off from performing and became a substitute teacher for a school year, working all throughout the Anchorage School District. I had an incredible time teaching students all the way from preschool to high school. I taught everything from math to music and everything in between and worked with students of varying backgrounds and learning abilities. I loved how much I learned from my students and how much joy and laughter they brought me every day.

I've lived in NYC for a year now, pursuing my acting career but I am also so exited to still be able to work with children as I do so. I spent the past year working with a wonderful family with three kinds - one boy, 5, and two girls, 8 and 10. I would pick them up after school and we would play at parks or at home or I would take them to playdates and after school activities. At least once a week I would also make them dinner, read to them and put them to bed. Of course, having a BFA in Musical Theatre, this would always include a song or two as a goodnight lullaby! As a creative person myself, I LOVE doing creative activities with kids. Putting on performances, playing cards or board games, writing creative stories together, ANY crafts - especially holiday and seasonal crafts to display in the house are always a favorite and of course, karaoke! I also love learning new activities from my students. For example, I worked for a family who's son was very into competitive origami and he would often teach me! (Sadly, it is not my calling but I loved learning!) I think it's so important to keep children engaged, so if that means a good chat about their lives and things that interest them, baking the perfect chocolate-chip cookie, an exciting game of Freeze Dance or a quiet hour of origami, I'm fully in it, 100%.

I am CPR/first-aid certified in infants and adults and have quite a bit of experience with students with learning disabilities.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Singing, Acting, Dancing, Cooking, Baking, Reading, Writing, Watching my favorite Disney movies,

In 5 years, I hope to be...

A Mother. These things can't be rushed, so I hate to put a five year cap on it but as important as acting and performing is to me, being a mother has become just as important of a dream and in a perfect world I am still able to do both. I would love to work for (and eventually run) a summer children's Performing Arts program back in my hometown in Alaska. That state gave me so much as a child and I have always wanted to find a way to give back in my own way.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Singing, Dancing, Acting, Cooking and baking (safely, with parental knowledge and approval and my constant supervision), and crafts! I love discovering new crafts on the internet or from friends and other families and exploring with new ideas!


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.