How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Nicolas N.

Education

University of Texas at Austin,
B.S. in Film Studies

Childcare Experience

After-school Babysitter
New York, NY, 03/18 - 08/19
One boy, age 11

Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 06/15 - 11/17
One boy, age 2, and one girl, age 5

Nanny
New York, NY, 09/14 - 06/15
Two boys, ages 9 months and 6 months

Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 06/19 - 09/14
One boy, age 4, and one girl, age 8

Professional Experience

Office Assistant
New York, NY, 11/17 - 02/18

About me

I grew up in a small town in Texas with my younger sister, my mom, and my stepdad. I spent my childhood climbing trees, fishing, and overall anything in the outdoors. Besides nature, I loved Star Wars and basically any other sci-fi book, movie, or comic (and still do!). For college, I attended the University of Texas at Austin and graduated with a degree in film. Since graduation, I have spent over 12 years caring for children professionally both as a teacher and a nanny and I have enjoyed every second of it.
   
In middle school and high school, I would babysit for family and family friends. After college, I accepted an assistant teacher position at a local preschool in Austin caring for toddlers. After a couple of years, I moved up to lead teacher of the PreK classroom. During my time spent there, I also babysat for various families that I knew through the school. After 8 years of teaching, I decided to accept a full-time nanny position for a family in Brooklyn. I cared for their 4 year-old son and 8 year-old daughter. After their son began attending PreK, I accepted a full-time nanny position with another family in Brooklyn. I cared for their 2 year-old son and 5 year-old daughter. After spending two and a half years with them, I then accepted a part time nanny job with a 11 year-old boy and his family in Brooklyn and spent a year and a half with them. At all of these positions, I handled and supervised school/camp pickups, commuting, afterschool activities, snack prep, full day activities and trips, arts and crafts, cooking, laundry, light cleaning, and swimming supervision.
   
I have a huge passion for both art/design and nature and I feel that both of these interests draw me to work with children to help show them their creative side and strengthen their love of the outdoors. I strive to be a confident, sensitive caregiver and role model, who emotionally supports the children in my care to do what they love, be helpful and respectful world citizens, know that learning is a lifelong experience that should never stop, and (of course) have fun! And all the better if they share my love of experiences.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers

I will be SmartSitting while...

Hiking, archery, sketching, camping, swimming, seeing a movie, jogging, reading graphic novels, playing video games, or attending a music show.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Professionally practicing freelance graphic design while still afterschool nannying.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Anything nature-focused (hiking, bird watching, leaf collecting, etc.), dancing, science experiments, and social skills.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.