How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Amanda M.

Education

Colegio Técnico Nacional de Asuncion,
High School Diploma
Focus on Computer Science

Childcare Experience

Nanny
New York, NY, 03/18 - Present
One girl, age 3 months

Nanny
New York, NY, 08/17 - 08/18
One boy, age 3 months

Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 08/15 - 10/17
One boy, age 6 months

Au Pair
Brooklyn, NY, 01/14 - 08/15
One girl, age 6 months, and one boy, age 5

Au Pair
Red Hook, NY, 10/13 - 01/14
Two boys, ages 6 months and 5 years

Son-Rise Player
Asuncion, Paraguay, 08/11 - 11/12
5 year old boy

Professional Experience

Program Support Assistant
Asuncion, Paraguay, 11/12 - 10/13

Kindergarten Teacher Aid
Asuncion, Paraguay, 06/12 - 11/12

About me

I grew up near the capital of Paraguay with my parents and an older brother. I studied computer science in high school, and coding in college. I later switched to psychology and took developmental psychology classes, which have provided insight and informed my job as a caregiver. I also spent a year abroad in Belgium, where I discovered Flemish culture and language studying art in high school. During that year I volunteered in a school for children with special needs, which is where my interest in working with children started.

My first caregiving job during college was to help with the treatment of a five-year-old boy with autism, which I did until he was 7. Then I was a teacher’s aid at a kindergarten; my job was to integrate two children with special needs into a mixed age classroom of children ages 1.5 to 7, and help carrying out the daily activities for the entire group. Afterwards I worked at an intercultural exchange organization, where I provided support for participants of the program (teens and young adults), to prepare them for their experiences and help with any challenges they encountered.

In 2013 I came to the U.S. as an Au pair. I lived with a family in Brooklyn, looking after a six-month-old baby girl and a five-year-old boy until they were two and seven. For the last four years, I've worked as a nanny and babysitter, and have taken care of babies and children, from ages two months to eight years! My duties included feeding them, putting them down for naps, preparing meals, assisting with laundry, doing age-appropriate developmental activities, dropping them off to school, helping with homework, setting up play dates, taking them to activities or the park, and occasional trips to the zoo and museums! I've also helped with evening routine, and stayed overnight when parents were away. Most importantly, I always make sure the children under my care are safe, and feel loved and nurtured.

I believe that helping to raise children to be compassionate, inquisitive, confident and joyful people can help build a better society for themselves and the rest of us, and although I have a fun doing my job, it's a responsibility I take very seriously.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Teenagers
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Hiking, camping, reading, watercolor painting, spending time with family and friends, cooking and visiting museums! I recently started an online coding class, too!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

I would love to be in a position in which I could inspire and teach children to build a more sustainable future for themselves and future generations.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I like taking children out to activities, like going to museums, the zoo, and other options the city offers, like plays and concerts for little ones! Also, going to the park to play soccer or play with other children at the playground; and indoor activities, such as drawing, arts and crafts, and creating and enacting plays, which help nurture their imagination and motor skills. I also love teaching them Spanish, and bake or cook with them when they reach a certain age.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.