How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Brittany H.

Education

Brooklyn College,

Mercy College,

Childcare Experience

Teacher's Assistant
Brooklyn, NY, 08/17 - 01/18
4 years old

Full-Time Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 06/15 - 08/17
Girl and a boy, ages 1 and 3

Professional Experience

Receptionist
Monroe, NY, 06/13 - 05/15

About me

I grew up upstate New York in a small town named Washingtonville. I am the second oldest of five. I have one older sister, two younger sisters and one younger brother. I moved out at the age of 19 to come live and attend school in New York City where I have created a fulfilling life for myself. I attended Brooklyn College for two years studying Early Education and then transferred to Mercy College where I currently study Occupational Therapy.

Growing up with younger siblings was my first experience of being a caretaker. When my younger brother was one year old, he began seeing a Speech Therapist. He was later diagnosed with Autism. I vividly remember this triggering an interest in learning more about children. When I moved to the city I instantly began looking for a childcare position. I was a live-out/live-in nanny for a family with two young children. A 1-year-old girl and 3-year-old boy. I began working with them when they lived in Brooklyn, NY and continued to be with them until after their move to Florida. I would arrive at the home early morning before the children woke to prepare breakfast. I would be with them all day and had the responsibility of all feedings, entertainment, naps and in constant communication with the parents. Before moving they asked if I would accompany them in relocating to Florida while they got settled into their new home. I have also worked in a classroom setting with children from 3 months to the age of 4 years old. I was the head teacher in a daycare and then a teacher's assistant in a UPK classroom. I am bilingual speaking both English and Spanish.

When I am not working or in school I enjoy going to the gym to stay healthy and in shape. I also enjoy activities such as kayaking, hiking and bike riding. I love to learn new things and to also share my knowledge. I always knew I wanted to work with children but seeing how teachers and therapists helped my brother really inspired me to further my career in childcare. I take great pride in knowing I can be a part of a child's emotional, mental and educational growth!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

In class during the fall and spring semester. In the summer, I am either at the gym or spending time with family and friends.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Working as an Occupational Therapist in Early Intervention with young, disabled children. I hope to be a homeowner and to be successful.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I am a very hands-on person therefore I enjoy educational activities that are fun for the child such as arts and crafts that focus on shapes, sizes, colors, etc. I take pride in teaching young toddlers how to speak and feel being in constant communication with children is very important because it focuses on pronunciation, expands vocabulary and teaches a child to engage in conversation.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.