How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Lily S.

Education

John Jay College of Criminal Justice,
M.A. in Forensic Psychology (in progress)

Albany High School,
High School Diploma

The New School,
B.A. in Urban Studies and Food Studies

Childcare Experience

Full-Time Nanny/Household Administrative Assistant
New York City, NY, 09/17 - Present
One girl (age 4) and 3 boys (ages 8, 10, and 10)

Full-Time Nanny/Household Administrative Assistant
New York City, NY, 09/19 - 10/20
One boy (age 9), one girl (age 15)

Date-Night Sitter
New York City, NY, 07/16 - 07/18
One girl (age 4)

Full-Time Nanny/Household Administrative Assistant
New York City, NY, 08/16 - 08/17
One girl (age 9) and one boy (age 13)

After Daycare Babysitter
New York City, NY, 07/15 - 07/16
One girl (age 3)

Professional Experience

Pastry Chef at Dominique Ansel
New York City, NY, 07/15 - 07/16

Pastry Cook and Manager at Aux Merveilleux de Fred
New York City, NY, 07/14 - 07/15

Camp Counselor and Art Teacher
Laytonville, CA, 06/08 - 09/14

Kiehl's Customer Representative
New York City, NY, 07/12 - 07/13

About me

In 2011 I moved from my home in California to NYC, where I earned my B.A. in Urban and Food Studies at The New School. During and for several years after, I worked as a pastry cook. However, I realized I found more joy spending time with the four year old I had been babysitting on the side. So, I became a full-time nanny, putting my baking skills to use by teaching little ones what their own two hands could create.

I babysat often in California for kids ranging from 6 months to 10 years old. I also spent summers working at a circus and performing arts camp where I taught art, face painting, magic, and clowning! In the past four years, I've worked as a full-time nanny and developed skills as a household/personal assistant. The first family I worked for had a 9 year old (who loved experimenting in the kitchen), and a 13 year old (with Aspergers and exceptional STEM skills). Here, I developed my patient but firm communication skills, helping both children become more self-sufficient. Next, I worked for an energetic family of six: a 4 year old, 8 year old, and twin 10 year olds. I provided homework help (especially for one child with ADHD), scheduling and travel assistance, staff management, and extensive household administrative tasks. Most recently, I worked for a family with a 9 year old (who loves presidential facts and making music videos). Once covid flipped our world, my role required lots of creative flexibility! I took care of their needs in the city, hosted read-alongs over Zoom, sent at-home activity idea lists, donated outgrown clothes-- sewing the sentimental items into masks, and used FaceTime to show the boy his home city under quarantine.

Recently I began a 2 year MA program in Forensic Psychology. Upon graduation, I hope to work in court-related assessments. My academic interests are rooted in my interests in childhood development. For me, one of the most satisfying aspects of working with children is my ability to help them learn independence, emotional security, and behavioral regulation. It amazes me how all this is supported through everyday interactions: as we learn to tie shoes, resolve conflicts, and whip up batches of homemade marshmallows!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Deep in a sewing project, reading something nonfiction, or baking up a storm!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Happy and grateful! I hope to be settled in a job that puts my future master's degree to work and taking the kids I used to care for out on a Saturday for ice cream to hear about their newly-teenage crushes, what they want to do when they grow up, what their newest favorite book is, etc. etc.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Baking, baking, baking! I love to dream up new and interesting baking projects with kids and make things that they didn't know could be made at home like ice cream cakes, applesauce, or gummy bears (and possibly sneak in some healthy substitutes!). I also love reading with kids. One of my favorite things to do is to rediscover a book I loved a their age and share it with them. What's even better is when they introduce me to something that they love! I think reading together is a great way to have a shared experience that's also helpful for expanding critical thinking skills, vocabulary, and empathy building. In general, I believe in child led play, but always provide the guidance when needed.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.