How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Veronica L.

Education

Parsons School of Design,
BFA in Fashion Design; Minor in Fine Arts

Childcare Experience

After-School Babysitter
Brooklyn, , 08/19 - 03/20
Two boys, ages 3 and 5

Camp Counselor and Art Teacher
Scott Township, PA, 06/14 - 07/16
5-6 children, ages 3-11

Professional Experience

Assistant Designer
New York, US, 08/20 - Present

After-School Babysitter
Brooklyn, , 08/19 - 03/20

Designer's Assistant
New York, NY, 08/16 - 05/19

Artist Assistant
New York, NY, 05/18 - 08/18

Research Assistant
New York, NY, 10/17 - 05/18

Design Intern
New York, NY, 07/17 - 08/17

Design Assistant
New York, NY, 12/15 - 08/16

About me

I grew up in Long Island, New York. I just graduated from Parsons School of Design in May 2019 with a BFA in Fashion Design and a minor in Fine Arts. I began drawing as early as I can remember and art has always been my passion. I am interested in becoming a nanny because I have always loved children and I believe this would be a good way of making income while I pursue my art practice.

I have been babysitting for friends and family after school and on weekends since I was 12 years old. My first professional child-care job was as a Camp Counselor and Art Teacher at Camp Comanche. This was a sleep-away camp. I took care of 5-6 children for 2 weeks each summer. One year I was a counselor for boys ages 3-8 and the other 2 years I was a counselor for girls ages 3-11. My responsibilities included making sure they brushed their teeth, getting them dressed for the day, solving any conflicts between campers, taking them to and from camp activities, playing with them during free hours and getting them ready for bed. I would read to them each night before bed. If the children woke up at night because of wetting the bed, nightmares, or general restlessness I would clean them up and help them fall back to sleep. As an art teacher at the camp, I would prepare arts and crafts projects each day for the different age groups of kids. In 2019 and early 2020, I was a babysitter for 2 Park Slope boys. I started when they were 3 and 5 and ended when they were 4 and 6. I would pick them up from school and take them to the park and extracurricular activities, and prepare dinner every Friday afternoon. I am very imaginative and creative so I am well-equipped to play "make-believe games". I am also a classically trained flutist, vocalist, and pianist. I can teach any of these instruments as well as basic music theory (reading music). I can teach drawing, illustration, sewing, wood-working, ceramics, and painting as well. I also speak Cantonese fluently!

My parents always encouraged me to be creative as a child and this is something I believe is very important for their personality development and I want to help foster this in any way I can.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

painting, reading, sewing, writing and playing music, cooking, going to museums, making costumes and puppets.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

seeking an MFA in Painting.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

drawing painting sewing singing playing the flute playing the piano reading music reading books and writing basic homework help spanish homework (I took Spanish in middle school and high school)


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.