For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Kate R.

Education

Illinois Wesleyan University,
B.F.A. in Acting

Childcare Experience

Occasional Babysitter
LaGrange, IL, 05/04 - 08/09
Two boys, ages 2 and 6, One girl, age 4

Occasional Babysitter
Berkeley, IL, 03/09 - Present
Two boys, 2 and 6, Two girls, 3 and 2 weeks

Camp Counselor
Twin Lakes, MI, 05/10 - 08/10
Girls, age 9-12

Children's Theatre Actor
East Coast, USA, 11/13 - 03/14
Students, k-12

Professional Experience

Bartender
New York, NY, 05/14 - 11/14

Interactive Performer
Manheim, PA, 06/13 - 10/14

About me

I grew up in the vast wilderness of the Chicago suburbs, where I excelled in rollerblading, romping, and all forms of dress up and make-believe! These days, not much has changed! I graduated from Illinois Wesleyan University with a BFA in Acting in May of 2013, and have experienced many adventures since then. I spent five weeks backpacking through Ireland, Scotland, Italy, and Spain. I've met wolves. Professionally, I've been a camp counselor for a fine arts camp, where for two weeks at a time, I was able to connect with young ladies with big dreams in the arts! I was hired as a performer with the Pennsylvania Renaissance Faire, where I interacted with patrons of all ages while maintaining that we were in a completely different time period! I also was fortunate enough to land a gig with Bright Star Touring Theatre, where I traveled up and down the East coast presenting plays to droves of school children. The plays we presented covered subject matter like holidays around the world, the Civil Rights movement, and famous inventors throughout history.

My experiences with childcare have always been positive. I started babysitting at age 14 for the Fergusons who lived down the street, and continued to babysit until I graduated high school. I was fortunate enough to live in a tight-knit community, where trust, loyalty, and responsibility were highly valued traits. I still find these to be staples of my personality today!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Outside of work, I'm typically spending time with my friends. I enjoy painting, especially large canvasses and I've been known to give personal paintings or drawings as gifts. I also love to cook! Lately, I've been cooking some more challenging recipes which has proven to be gratifying and delicious!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In five years I'll be thinking about starting a family of my own. I hope to be fortunate enough to find a career where I can combine all of my interests. I'm finding that in New York, there are so many paths that one can take, so I'm enjoying taking advantage of all the possibilities!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I really like learning about history with kids. I enjoy finding something we use in everyday life (like peanut butter, or a spatula, etc.) and then researching where it came from. This is usually a fun activity to do at the library, and it can get us out of the house! I have a history in music, both reading and playing some instruments, so I also really like introducing kids to music! Or if they play any instruments, I would probably be able to help! The thing I enjoy most would definitely be creative time. Whether it's painting, drawing, building a fort, or putting on a play for Mom and Dad when they get home, it's always a treat to experience kids expressing themselves!


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.