How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Ariel B.

Education

University of North Carolina School of the Arts,
BFA in Acting

Childcare Experience

After-School/Camp Sitter
brooklyn, , 12/17 - Present
One boy 9yrs old

Light part-time and occasional care
Brooklyn, , 05/18 - Present
One year old boy

Overnight sitter
Brooklyn, , 02/19 - Present
One eleven year old girl

Occasional daytime and date-night sitter
Brooklyn, , 05/18 - Present
One one year old boy

Professional Experience

Theater Teacher
Brooklyn and Queens, , 12/17 - Present

About me

I am a Brooklyn based Actor, Teaching Artist and Childcare provider who grew up in Charlotte, NC. As a child I enjoyed catching fireflies and swimming in the lake in North Carolina and spending summers with dad in Massapequa, NY. The access to Broadway plays and an arts education all through my formative years fueled my love of the arts. I graduated from The University of North Carolina School of the Arts in 2017 with a BFA in Acting. My work with young people , wether it be as a childcare provider or in the classroom, continuously fosters my curiosity, creativity and passion for being of service to my community!

I have worked as a part-time and occasional care sitter with multiple families in the NYC area. The children's ages have run the spectrum between four months and thirteen years. Duties have included feeding, light housekeeping, changing, bathing, school and camp pick-ups, cooking and outings that range from an hours journey to and from The Natural History Museum to simple outings to the neighborhood park.

A few examples of family size/ages include:
Two twin infants
Two twin 6 1/2 yr olds their 8 yr old sister
An 8yr old boy and 10 yr old girl

I love to explore toys alongside young children: What sound will this make if we tap it with our fingers? How can we animate this puppet or car? I point out colors, shapes and numbers to the as they stack blocks or rings. It is also a ton of fun to brings books alive with character voices and points of view. With the older kids (who aren't always interested in being silly or playing a board game), I believe my ability to listen and empathize helps them to feel seen, heard and cared for while their parents are away. I also love to play music and encourage sing-a-longs and dance parties!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Professionally, I am usually working on an artistic project such as a short film or play. I also teach theater for a few different organizations in the NYC area. For fun, I enjoy exploring a museum, live music events, trying out new restaurants and cooking at home for friends!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

A more experienced Teaching Artist and Bi-coastal actor as well as a post natal Doula working with new mothers and infants.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Card/board games, books, music as well as teaching colors, numbers and shapes to the little ones as we play.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.