How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Samantha B.

Education

LaGuardia Community College,
currently attending

Childcare Experience

Part-time/as needed Babysitter
Manhattan, NY, 08/17 - Present
Two girls, ages 6 and 8

After-school sitter/cleaning
Manhattan, NY, 09/16 - 08/19
One boy, age 8

Babysitter
Manhattan, NY, 06/07 - 08/10
One girl, age 9-12

Part-tie nanny
Manhattan, NY, 07/07 - 10/09
Two boys, ages 4 and 6

Professional Experience

Tennis Instructor/Camp Director
Manhattan, NY, 06/13 - Present

Receptionist
Wayne, NJ, 07/07 - 08/09

About me

Hello! My name is Samantha, but I generally go by Sam. I grew up in a New Jersey suburb close to New York City where my mom, sisters, brother, and nieces still reside. After high school I attended musical theater and then acting school, and pursued a career in performance for many years. I also began instructing tennis to children seven years ago. Currently I am enrolled full-time at LaGuardia Community college and just completed my freshman year with honors and made the Dean's List at thirty three years old. Throughout every chapter in my life, I have been also caring for children whether as a full-time nanny or occasional babysitter.

Having been in childcare since I was thirteen, I have twenty years experience sitting and nannying. My familiarity with kids and their needs comes through in my demeanor and adherence to boundaries as well as exploration. As a nanny for two boys ages 1 and 4 through 3 and 6, I was responsible for safely transporting them by MTA or driving (I have a current license). I also prepared meals, kept the kitchen orderly, managed nap times and play dates as well as other scheduling. I was also able to see the younger child begin to walk, and was part of his early development in transitioning to self-feeding, language, and, of course, walking. I have also nannied for a newborn and his three year old brother. I am comfortable with all ages and have changed many diapers, helped in potty training, made meals, arranged playdates, applied first aid when necessary, and comfort during distress. I also take pride in being an open and honest communicator, valuing parent's boundaries and parenting ideals.

I love using music, playing guitar, exploring imaginary worlds, and opening up create channels for kids. My love of the human spirit comes through in my caring, but also in my ability to create and teach healthy boundaries of privacy and emotional intimacy. I currently aim to complete my education by specializing in developmental psychology, and have benefited from learning about the ways in which children develop cognitively, emotionally, and physically, also considering the individual differences in children.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Playing music or working on my education! I still sing quite often and always have music as a healthy outlet. I love exploring this vast city, visit museums, and value intellectual discourse with my cohorts and colleagues.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Completing my PhD! My goal is to either be a licensed therapist or work in academia, but most likely both. My love of learning is a passion that I wish to apply to make the world a better place.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Singing, music, dance, science, art, literature; I'm a voracious consumer of intellect and any art, and I LOVE teaching children. I also try to impart the feeling of wonder for the world, but also a deep respect for it. I also love helping kids socialize, teaching them how to interact with others, but also help create a sense of agency and choice.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.