For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Erin T.

Education

Xavier University,
B.A. International Affairs: Developing Nations

Indiana University,
M.P.H. (Masters of Public Health)

New York University,
M.F.A., Dramatic Writing, Television Concentration

Childcare Experience

Babysitter
Brooklyn, New York, 05/13 - Present
Ellie, Age 3 Years, Benjamin, Age 5 Years

Babysitter
Brooklyn, New York, 08/14 - 02/15
Clark, Age 2 years, Silas, Age 5 years

Babysitter
Indianapolis, IN, 06/06 - 08/06
Twins, age 8

Babysitter
Indianapolis, Cincinnati, Indiana, Ohio, 04/98 - 07/09
Two boys, Age infant and 3 years, Girl, Age 5

Refugee Program Facilitator
Baltimore, MD, 08/04 - 08/05
Group, middle and high schoolers

Professional Experience

Go Ask Alice! Project Assistant
New York, NY, 01/15 - Present

Breast and Cervical Cancer Program Director
Indianapolis, IN, 07/09 - 08/12

Health Educator, Diabetes Prevention and Control
Indianapolis, IN, 10/08 - 05/09

About me

Being the younger sister of two children, I often dreamed of being an older sister. Though that dream never came true, I've played a big sister role in the life of many children. I began babysitting in high school, working evenings and weekends. My work with children led me to want to study early childhood education, and I worked summers between college as a camp counselor.

Since moving on to careers in public health and pursuing dreams of becoming a writer, I have continually babysat to give myself the chance to connect with more children. I love working with children, and I believe in being gentle and patient with them. I believe in providing a firm schedule, allowing them to have structure and routine, but at the same time, teaching them that flexibility is important.

Most importantly I want to teach children what is special and important about them. As someone who struggled with low self-esteem, I encourage children to express their feelings, and embrace who they are. I am very thankful for the families I have worked with and look forward to working with yours!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Reading, or falling asleep while reading, watching television (huge fan of Cheers, Seinfeld, The Simpsons, The Wire, The Mary Tyler Moore Show, and several others), working on revising old scripts and writing new ones, working on my podcast, writing sketches with my writing partner, cooking delicious vegan food, walking to Prospect Park with my friend and her puppy, writing at coffee shops.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Working as a staff writer on a critically acclaimed television show, and hopefully having children of my own, working as a successful playwright.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love reading, and was an avid reader as a child (still am). I was a good kid, but mostly got in trouble for staying up after my bedtime reading. I love teaching children to read, and also reading with children when they are able. I love teaching kids how to cook and bake, and doing projects around that. I am not the most crafty person, but love to find fun projects to do with kids.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.