For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Hattie K.

Education

Whittier College,
BA in Child Development

Childcare Experience

Full-time Nanny
Southampton, NY, NY, 07/14 - 08/14
Three girls, ages 4 months, 3 and 5

Part-time Babysitter
New York, NY, 01/13 - Present
Girl, age 4

Part-time Babysitter
New York, NY, 06/11 - 09/13
Boys, ages 3 & 6

After-School Babysitter
New York, New York, 01/10 - 09/10
Boys, ages 9 & 11

Professional Experience

Counselor
New York, NY, 06/10 - 08/14

Student Teacher
Whittier, CA, 09/12 - 05/14

About me

I am a native New Yorker from the Upper West Side. I truly loved growing up in the city and am so grateful for it! The city has such wonderful places for children to grow and explore. I myself have many fond memories in the various playgrounds, parks, and museums that my babysitter took me to when I was young. As a nanny I would love to share a bit of my childhood experiences with children today!

I recently graduated from Whittier College in California where majored in Child Development. I knew this was what I wanted to study because I had worked with children before and absolutely loved it. I learned about the cognitive, emotional, social, and physical development of children, as well as different theories of how children learn and interact with their environments and the people around them. The best part of my major was that I was given the opportunity to be a student teacher in a Kindergarten classroom where I lead activities and even made my own lesson plans. It was an amazing and challenging experience that gave me a huge appreciation for teachers and those who work with children.

My time away from New York made me more appreciative of the endless possibilities this city has to offer. I moved back home after college, and am very much enjoying life in the city! In the future, I am planning on attending graduate school to pursue a master’s degree in education, but or now I am looking to broaden my experiences working with and caring for children.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)

I will be SmartSitting while...

I love the arts; I used to be a serious ballet dancer (up until college) so I like going to ballet performances. I also love to cook, my friends and I try to get together weekly and cook dinner together. One of my favorite things about living in the city is that you can walk everywhere. No matter the weather, I try to walk everywhere I go (if possible). I love exercise, and walking is an easy and enjoyable way to get it!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Well traveled. I have seen many parts of Europe, but there is so much more of the world I want to see. I love languages, I want to study a few and travel to where it is spoken. After I travel, I want to go to grad school for a Master's in education.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

-I love art, dance, and any play that is creative. Through creativity children can express themselves and reflect on their thoughts and surroundings. - I think that dramatic play, or make beieve is a wonderful thing for children to do because they can use their imaginations. -I know a few different languages, I love to share my knowledge with children -I love being outside, love going to parks or playgrounds.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.