How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Gina B.

Education

Obriens Aveda Institute,
Spa Therapy

PRAXIS Para Pro,

Childcare Experience

Nanny
Brrooklyn, New York, 10/18 - 10/19
1 boy 1 girl, age 8

Para Educator
Essex, Vermont, 10/14 - 10/16
3 boys, ages 6,7,8

Personal Care Assistant
Colchester, Vermont, 07/09 - 10/13
1 girl, age 10

Professional Experience

Substitute Teacher
Burlington, Vermont, 10/16 - 10/18

Para Educator
Essex, Vermont, 09/14 - 09/16

About me

I grew up in Colchester, Vermont and graduated from Mt. Mansfield Union High School. I spent much of my time as a child outdoors, riding my bike, or taking my dog on adventures. The middle child of 3, I have an older brother and a younger sister. I spent my summers by Lake Champlain doing water sports and swimming. Throughout high school I worked as a personal care assistant with a young girl who has special needs. I played Varsity Field Hockey and Tennis in High School. I then attended O'Briens Aveda Institute and graduated the Spa Therapy Program.
   
I felt as though my calling was teaching children, so I took the Para Pro Test and became a Highly Qualified Paraprofessional. I worked as a para educator for two years in an elementary school, working with children who have special needs, many of whom are non verbal. My students were in 3rd-5th grade. After this I became a substitute teacher for K-8th grade. I did this for about a year and a half. Then I moved to Brooklyn and became a nanny. I worked with a family whose children were 8 years old, picking them up from school each day. I always helped with homework and brought them to their extracurricular activities such as piano, ballet, tutors, tennis etc. I helped the family with light house cleaning and their groceries every week. I stayed late at least once a week or whenever they asked. I cooked for the kids each night and most nights for a family of 6.
   
I will always be a kid at heart and spending time with children and teaching will always be something I love. I love adventures and being challenged. Being around children everyday is a new learning experience and rewarding opportunity.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Hanging out with my dog, going for walks or bike rides. I love to cook, so you'll always find me in the kitchen trying out a new recipe or making my famous sauce! I also love to read and paint.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Continuing my education in child care!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to teach reading comprehension, spelling, and computer skills. I also like to teach sports that I played when I was a kid; field hockey, tennis, soccer, basketball and many more. I also like to share my love of cooking and always encourage the kids to help!


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.