How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Avery M.

Education

Point Park University,
Bachelor's Degree in Performing Arts
Dance Major

Cab Calloway School of the Arts,
High School Degree
Dance Major

Childcare Experience

After-School Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 01/20 - 10/20
Two girls, ages 7 and 10

Nanny
Savannah, Georgia, 04/16 - 05/19
Four children, 3 mo, 2, 4, 9

Part-Time Babysitter
Savannah, Georgia, 03/16 - 05/19
Boy, 3 years

Professional Experience

Dance Instructor
Savannah, Georgia, 08/16 - 05/19

Rehearsal Mistress
Savannah, Georgia, 07/17 - 05/19

Dancer
Savannah, Georgia, 08/14 - 05/19

Office Assistant
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 11/12 - 07/14

Community Facilitator
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 07/12 - 05/13

Jr Teacher
Newark, Delaware, 09/08 - 05/10

About me

I grew up in Delaware with one older brother and a big goofy chocolate lab. My parents put me into dance class when I was just 4 years old and, as far as my dance life goes, the rest is history! I majored in dance in high school, and I went on to get my bachelor's degree in ballet at Point Park University in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. I spent one year of college abroad studying dance in Paris and traveling around Europe. After college, I moved to Savannah, Georgia to join the Savannah Ballet Theater. After 5 successful seasons with Savannah Ballet, I moved to NYC to explore a new city with new adventures and dance opportunities.
   
In Savannah, I taught dance in multiple colleges and dance studios. At Savannah Ballet School of Dance I rose from dance instructor to Junior Company Advisor to Head Private Lesson Instructor. I taught classes of 25 students ages 3 to 16 years old. While teaching and dancing professionally, I had a full-time nanny position with a family of 3 girls and 1 boy. I worked with them for 3 years. There isn’t much I didn’t do with this family! From infant related care to pre-teen assistance, I was more of an extension of the family than a babysitter. It is an opportunity I am so grateful to have had. In New York, I was with a family with 2 girls, ages 7 and 10. My duties included pick up from school, escort them to after school activities, homework help, and dinner preparation. During Covid19, I joined this family in Cape Cod as a full-time, live-in sitter and assisted with the girl's full time virtual schooling.
   
I believe childcare to be one of the most important and gratifying jobs. The people who help care for your children are those who help shape your child’s mind. I am passionate about being a kind and inclusive member of society and encourage the same behavior from the children I care for. Acting as a positive role model and consciously raising children to be kind, loving, responsible individuals will affect the way the world will run in the future. There are few things more important than ensuring a future full of well developed, loving individuals.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Riding my bike, playing with my dog, reading, and dancing!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Surrounded by an active and supportive community as I continue to grow and learn!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Dance is a huge part of my life so whenever I am given the opportunity to dance with kiddos, I do it! I am also a board game enthusiast. I think board games are a great tool in demonstrating good sportsmanship, decision making, and critical thinking. Plus, they're fun! Another activity I am sure to share with the children I care for is playing outside. As a sitter, I strive to spend as much time allows outdoors for fresh air and physical activity. Living an active lifestyle is so important for both physical and mental health. Including fitness in play when children are young will normalize healthy living which will then be carried into adulthood.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.