For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Grace H.

Education

North Carolina State University,
B.S. in Textile and Apparel Management

Childcare Experience

Nanny
Nashville, TN, 08/11 - 12/14
Twin girls, ages 7 and one boy, age 4

Nanny
Nashville, TN, 08/11 - 12/14
One girl, age 7 and one boy, age 12

Nanny
Raleigh, NC, 06/08 - 06/11
Two girls, ages 6 and 4, and one boy, age 2

Nanny
Greensboro, NC, 08/10 - 06/11
Two girls, ages 3 months and 2

Professional Experience

Lifeguard
Greensboro, NC, 05/03 - 08/06

About me

While completing my Bachelors degree in Textile Design, I decided to take on a job as a nanny. I have always loved children, and I had been a babysitter for as long as I can remember, so I felt confident in my ability to be an effective nanny. I immediately found the job to be stimulating and fulfilling, and I ended up working with that family for three years. What started as a side-job quickly became my passion, and I realized that I had discovered my calling. Once I completed my degree, I decided to redirect my career to be a full-time nanny. I have had the good fortune to work full-time with several wonderful families since then. I find it immensely rewarding to care for children and make parents' lives easier. I have worked with children from very young babies to fifteen years old. Every age brings new forms of enjoyment.

I love to use my other skills in my job as well. Using my background in sewing, I have taught many of my children how to sew and draft patterns. I have a very creative mind, so I love to involve my kids in an art or craft project in order to stimulate their intrinsic creativity. I am an exceptional baker and cook, and I always enjoy making meals and sweets with the children.

Combining the right amount of structure and affection, I provide an environment for children where they can thrive. While I believe that it is important for children to have boundaries, I understand that they need love and tenderness just as much. I know that helping families and their children will continue to be a large part of my life. I feel fortunate to have found a career doing something that leaves me feeling content at the end of each day.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Out hiking with my husband. We love to travel and be outdoors. We previously lived in Nashville, Tennessee, where we would go on long hikes every weekend in one of the nearby state parks. Now that we live in New York, we go on "urban hikes." We really enjoy discovering new places in the city.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Integrated into a family and a part of their daily routine, helping make their lives easy and enjoyable.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love all things creative: sewing, knitting, painting, crafting, cooking, the list goes on. I enjoy coming up with projects for children to work on. Each activity can be adapted to suit any age.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.