How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Janna S.

Education

Oklahoma City University,
B.M. in Musical Theatre

Childcare Experience

Nanny
Wildwood, MO, 05/20 - Present
One boy, age 7

Virtual Learning Tutor
New York City, , 10/20 - 12/20
Two boys, age 7

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 01/20 - 03/20
One girl, age 10

Part-time Babysitter
Chesterfield, MO, 05/16 - 12/19
Ages 5-13

Part-time Babysitter
Ballwin, MO, 08/19 - 12/19
Girls, 6, 8

Part-time Babysitter
Wildwood, MO, 02/14 - 05/17
Boy, girl, 4, 2

Choreographer for Summer Musicals
Eureka, MO, 07/11 - 07/12
Ages 9-14

Mother's Helper
Wildwood, MO, 07/10 - 07/10
Boy, 4

Professional Experience

Usher for Off-Broadway Theatre
New York, NY, 02/20 - Present

Sales Associate at Carter's/Oshkosh B'Gosh
Chesterfield, MO, 11/19 - 12/19

Summer Camp Teaching Artist/Teaching Assistant
University City, MO, 06/16 - 08/19

Library Circulation Assistant
Oklahoma City, OK, 02/16 - 05/19

Sales Associate at Charlotte Russe
Chesterfield, MO, 05/16 - 08/16

Cafe Associate at Panera Bread
Wildwood, MO, 01/15 - 08/15

Teaching Assistant
Wildwood, MO, 07/11 - 07/11

About me

A native Wisconsinite, I moved to St. Louis, MO with my parents and my older brother when I was nine. I've always been obsessed with the performing arts and gained wonderful opportunities in the theatre scene in Missouri, so I decided to "go pro" and attended Oklahoma City University, receiving my Bachelor of Music in Musical Theatre! Since graduating, I've been working as a professional actor in various theaters in addition to caring for four families with children ages 6-14, and recently made the big move to NYC to find ways to combine my passions of performing and childcare.
   
My first job in childcare was as a mother's helper, entertaining a 4-year-old boy as his mother tended to his newborn little sister. Into my high school and college years, I cared for several families with 1 to 3 children, with ages ranging from 2 to 13. In my most consistent jobs, duties have included after school pick-up, making snacks and meals, putting the kids to bed, swimming, private dance lessons, crafting, trips to the park and children's museums, and driving to and from sports practices. In college, I worked as a summer camp teaching assistant for two summers, then as a teaching artist at a large creative arts facility in St. Louis. I taught and assisted with topics ranging from culinary arts, dancing, jewelry making, painting, and even glass blowing. In summer 2020, I worked as a full-time nanny with an adorable 7-year-old boy!
   
As a true kid at heart, I love to go on adventures and find opportunities to play! I chose a career that's all about telling stories, empathy, and spreading laughter, which I always tie into my passion for kids. I believe kids should grow up learning about empathy and understanding. In order for our next generation of leaders to create a more loving world, we must teach them how to find common ground with everyone around us. My mission is to encourage today's children not to judge others, always be kind, and to find laughter every day.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Singing songs around the house, painting, baking, surrounding myself in nature, and going to the gym (well, pre-COVID at least).

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Doing work that I love with people that I love! I want to find work in the theatre that brings me and others joy, wherever that leads me.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to share my love of singing, dancing, acting, and painting. I also play piano and ukulele, which I love to teach kids. I also paint and draw, and enjoy sharing my tips with a paintbrush. I love sharing my love of (child-friendly) Broadway soundtracks!


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.