How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Jordan R.

Education

UMass Amherst,
BA in Theater, Multicultural Theater Certificate
Minor in Political Science

Childcare Experience

After-School Babysitter
Bushwick, NY, 01/20 - Present
Boy, 13

Babysitter
Southwick, MA, 10/02 - 05/13
1-11

Professional Experience

Summer Counselor
Amherst, MA, 06/19 - 08/19

1:1 Paraprofessional/Transition Assistant
Springfield, MA, 10/18 - 05/19

Residential Counselor
Northampton, MA, 03/18 - 10/18

Teaching Artist Assistant
Amherst, MA, 07/17 - 07/17

Guest Teaching Artist
Holyoke, MA, 07/17 - 07/17

Guest Teaching Artist
East Hampton, MA, 06/17 - 06/17

Childrens Theater Actor
West Springfield, MA, 06/11 - 08/16

Childrens Theater House Manager
West Springfield, MA, 06/14 - 08/16

About me

I grew up in Massachusetts with one younger brother that I babysat regularly. I enjoy arts and crafts and the performing arts, and have since I was a small child. I graduated from UMass Amherst in 2017 with a BA in Theater. I moved to Bushwick, Brooklyn in the fall of 2019 and hit the ground running with my theater work and getting into childcare. I love to approach working with children with a sense of fun, empathy, and creativity.

I have three years of professional experience working with ages 8-21 as a residential counselor, paraprofessional, summer counselor, and teaching artist. I have experience working with a wide age range, as well as a wide range of needs. Many of the youth I worked with in residential care or as a paraprofessional were coming from trauma backgrounds (many through DCF) and were diagnosed with mental illnesses and behavioral disorders. Additionally, I worked 1:1 as a paraprofessional with a student on the Autism Spectrum. Working with this clientele of youth in particular I have experience with therapeutic care, special education, and am certified in Trauma Informed Care. In all of these roles, I gained experience planning and implementing curriculum, cooking or preparing meals, cleaning homes, assisting with chores, assisting with homework, teaching emotional health, teaching social skills, teaching skills to transition to adulthood, and assisting youth within their communities. Additionally, I am AED, CPR, and First Aid certified until October 2020.

I love working with kids because it's challenging, rewarding, and fun. I love geeking out with kids on trips to the park, museums, board games, cartoons, arts and crafts, cooking, DIY projects, music, science, history, and performing arts. Most importantly, working with youth is important because they teach me just as much as I teach them, particularly patience, love, and empathy. The creative way that kids are able to look at the world is a synergistic exchange and has informed so much of my approach as an artist and educator.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Auditioning, rehearsing, cooking, sewing, reading.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Working full time as an artist and teaching artist.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Arts and crafts, DIY projects, self care, board games, cooking, theater games, creative writing, museums, aquariums, dancing, yoga, walking, critical analysis of literature/movies/documentaries/TV/fashion, STEM homework help, Arts and Humanities homework help, reading English and History, study tips, resume building, volunteering, mindfulness


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.