How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Tara B.

Education

Brooklyn College,
AA Early Childhood Education

Childcare Experience

Nanny
Brooklyn, New York, 08/20 - 02/20
Twins, 10

Primary On Site Childcare Provider (Manager)
Brooklyn, New York, 07/18 - 07/19
Daycare, 2-4

Professional Experience

Server (Alamo Drafthouse)
Brooklyn, New York, 01/17 - 06/18

Intern (Cancer Support Community)
New York, New York, 05/16 - 10/17

About me

A native New Yorker, I grew up partly in Flushing, Queens and partly in Midtown West, Manhattan. Growing up, I was known by my peers as a creative, always drawing, singing, or making something. Music and art are still a huge part of my life; I often draw and write songs in my spare time. I went to an all girls' catholic High School in the Meat Packing District, Notre Dame School. After graduating from High School I went on to attend Brooklyn College, receiving a 2 year degree in Early Childhood Education.


I have always loved children, and working in childcare the past two years has only amplified that. I have been working with children for the past two years at Tiny Steps MB Daycare in Park Slope, and with a family in Midtown consisting of twin 10 year-old girls. During my time at the daycare, in between prepping mass meals, changing diapers, cleaning and disinfecting the space, I had the privilege of watching 13 toddlers learn about themselves and the world around them. Working through new phrases and means of expressing their thoughts and feelings was a transformative experience. I’d go as far as to say early cognizance is the most interesting topic in the world! More recently, I experienced working with an age group I had not previously: 10 year- olds. In between escorting the girls to after school activities, cooking dinner, and helping with homework, I bonded with them and their whole five person family before they relocated back to France. We still keep in touch!

With an understanding of child development, I attempt to create a fun, safe, and educational experience for children that I hope to share with the amazing families of NYC!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Reading about art, reading about music, listening to music, making art!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Working towards a MA in Education.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love doing arts and crafts at any age. I've been known to get resourceful with projects for the daycare. We can make art out of anything, and we should!


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.