How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Lauren Q.

Education

New York University (Tisch School of the Arts),
B.F.A in Drama

Childcare Experience

Part-Time Babysitter
Plymouth Meeting, PA, 10/15 - Present
Boys, 10 months, 3

Bunk/Performing Arts Counselor (Independent Lake)
Thompson, PA, 06/19 - 08/19
Boys and girls, 6-16

Assistant Theater Director
Conshohocken, PA, 04/15 - 01/19
Boys and Girls, 8-16

Summer Time Babysitter/Nanny
Plymouth Meeting, PA, 05/18 - 08/18
Girl, boy, 15, 10

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 09/17 - 01/18
Boy, 7

Part- Time Babysitter
Plymouth Meeting, PA, 05/17 - 09/17
Twins, boy, 5, 3

Professional Experience

Administrative Assistant
Conshohocken, PA, 04/15 - 01/19

About me

I grew up in a suburb outside of Philadelphia called Plymouth Meeting, but I’ve since moved to the East Village where I’m pursuing a degree in Drama from New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts!

As the oldest in a family of six grandchildren, I’ve been around little ones since I was little myself, and childcare has always been one of my greatest joys; I must’ve been about 7 when I learned how to change a diaper and prepare a bottle. From the age of 13 all of my jobs have been related to childcare whether babysitting for families with kids as young as three months, working as a camp counselor for kids 7 to 16, picking up kindergartners from school, directing children in plays and musicals, accompanying families who needed extra hands to weddings/special events, the list goes on! Additionally, I have specialized experience with children who have experienced grief, children with additional needs, and have babysat up to three kids under 6 at one time, as well as lead summer camp bunks holding 15 girls.

Alongside childcare, my greatest love is acting and storytelling. I try to pass on these joys to kids I watch as much as possible, filling our day with reading stories, acting out skits, arts and crafts, funny voices, and anything else that helps them express themselves. Even in the bustle of NYC, I think getting outside is so important, so if your family allows, I will always try to find time for play time in the fresh air. The philosophy that I carry with me is my belief in the intelligence and power in all children. I think it’s so important to empower kids to find their own thoughts and voices, and help them be comfortable expressing who they are and what they love.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

In class or rehearsal, getting food with or going out to see my friends, at the theater or the movies, drinking tea/coffee, or hanging out in my apartment with my roommates.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

still in NYC or a new, exciting place, happily employed as an actor or another profession that I enjoy, in good health, and paying off student loans.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Performing skits and to be comfortable with speech and language, reading, writing, drawing, working on understanding different people and cultures, and kindness above all else.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.