How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Rachael F.

Education

Adelphi University,
BFA in Acting

CUNY School of Professional Studies,
MA in Applied Theatre (Exp. 2022)

Childcare Experience

Nanny
New York, NY, , 04/19 - 11/19
Girls, 1, 3

After-School Nanny
New York, NY, , 05/16 - 11/18
Twins, 4

Nanny
New York, NY, , 12/14 - 01/16
Girls, boy, 3, 6, 9

Professional Experience

Children's Theatre Performer
New York, NY, , 01/17 - 04/17

Children's Theatre Performer
Barnstead, NH, , 02/16 - 05/16

About me

I grew up in a suburb of Boston, Massachusetts where I fell in love with theatre. I went on to earn my BFA in acting from Adelphi University, and I am now working on getting my MA in Applied Theatre at the CUNY School of Professional Studies, learning how to facilitate emotional literacy development in children and young people through theatre. I have travelled all over the country with various children's theatre companies.

My childcare experience began when I was a teenager working as a camp counselor. Beyond nannying and professional children's theatre, and I have also worked as a birthday clown and an elf with Santa! Working as a birthday clown gave me great tools to entertain larger groups of children, filling my tool box with the best rainy day activities and games. I have experience working with up to 3 children at once, including multiples.

My most recent position was with two girls ages 14 months and 3 years old. I spent the majority of the day with the younger one while the older one was at preschool. We spent a great deal of time working on skills such as talking, recognizing colors, running, swimming, and socializing on playdates. I assisted the older one in learning music, cooking, and Spanish. I am extremely comfortable bringing little ones on public transit in the city and I am very familiar with kid friendly activities in the city, parks and playgrounds, and museums. I have lived in New York City for over five years and I know it's kid culture like the back of my hand. I am comfortable with swimming supervision, meal prep, laundry, and playdate organizing. I am available for overnights and travel; I love making overnights feel like a special sleepover party! Pillow forts and pajama dance parties are always a must.

I have a sweet 30 pound mixed breed dog named Kuzco who I have brought on nannying jobs with me when requested for families who are trying to familiarize their little ones with dogs; she is great with kids! Because of this I am always comfortable working with families with pets and walking their dogs. I pride myself on treating children with respect and patience. I can't wait to get to know your family!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

In class! I'm currently in grad school part time studying applied theatre, which is using theatre for social education. Otherwise I'm spending time with my dog Kuzco at the park or checking out the newest horror movie with friends.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Working with a non-profit theatre company teaching emotional literacy, consent (of all types), and sexual assault prevention to middle school students through drama.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Cooking! My favorite way to bond with kiddos is by prepping a meal together. I love seeing the sense of pride on a little one's face when they get to share a meal that they helped create. It also helps them get past picky eater tendencies! I also grew up in a bilingual program in school and I love sharing Spanish with kids, they are always so eager and receptive to learn new languages, especially while exploring different cultures.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.